Air Force Announces Women's Swimming & Diving Awards for 2012-13
Sophomore Kim Davis.

May 21, 2013

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - Air Force women's swimming & diving announced its team awards for the 2012-13 season. Sophomore Kim Davis led the way, earning the team's MVP honor.

Davis had one of the best-ever individual seasons at the Academy, setting eight school records. Davis set school records in the 100 and 200 free, 200 & 400 individual medley, 200 breaststroke and the 400 & 800 free relay and 200 medley relay. Davis earned All-Mountain West honors in the 200 and 400 IM.

Holcombe earned the team Captains Award. A four-year letterwinner, Holcombe earned all-conference honors in the 200 fly. The senior placed seventh overall. Her prelims time of 2:02.01 is the second-fastest time in school history. Holcombe set the school 100 fly record at the Championships.

The Coaches Award went to sophomore Michelle Kuyper. Kuyper was a distance specialist for the Falcons. Her 1650 free time of 17:44.95 at the Mountain West Championships were the third-fastest time on the team.

Sophomore Noelle Niccum earned the Iron Bolt Award for excellence in the strength and conditioning. Niccum specialized in the breaststroke events.

Four Falcons earned the Lindsay Brown Most Inspirational Teammate Award, given to a swimmer in each class. Alexandra Trobe earned the award for the senior class (fourth time overall), Samantha Laughlin for the juniors, Clara Heffernan for the sophomores and Sara Menke for the freshmen.



Trobe, who specialized in the sprint freestyle events, is an academic standout for Falcons, earning three All-Academic honors and well on her way to a fourth. Laughlin was Air Force's top back stroker and Heffernan was one of Air Force's top middle- and long-distance swimmers. Menke set three school records (500, 1000 and 1650 free), earning all-conference honors in the 1650 free.

In addition, Air Force women's swimming named its team captains for the 2013-14 season. Rising seniors Erin Bleyl and Hannah Cesare were named team captains for the upcoming season.

2013 Air Force Women's Swimming & Diving Awards
Swimming MVP: Kim Davis
Captains award: Haley Holcombe
All Conference: Kim Davis, Haley Holcombe, Sara Menke
Coaches Award: Michelle Kuyper
Iron Bolt Award: Noel Niccum
Lindsay Brown Most Inspirational Teammate Award (one per class and voted on by team)
Senior: Alex Trobe (4 time award winner)
Junior: Samantha Laughlin
Sophomore: Clara Heffernan
Freshman: Sara Menke

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago