Women's Swimming & Diving Announces 2011-12 Team Awards
Freshman Kim Davis.

April 25, 2012

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - Air Force women's swimming & diving announced its 2011-12 team award winners at the season-ending team award dinner. Freshman Kim Davis took home team MVP honors.

Davis was named MVP after a standout freshman year that saw her break three school records and qualify for the U.S. Olympic Trials. The Brentwood, Tenn., native set new school records in the 200 yard individual medley (2:02.45), 400 IM (4:22.79) and 200 Breaststroke (2:16.78). In addition, Davis became Air Force's first female swimmer to qualify for the Olympic Swimming trials, doing so in the 200 meter breast.

A member of each class earned the Lindsay Brown Team Most Inspiration Award, named in honor of Lindsay Brown, a former swim team member who passed away in a car accident in 2007. The award recognizes an athlete from each class who best exemplified what it means to be a great teammate, thinking of others first, being quick to forgive, can be trusted and is extremely dedicated. Senior Katharine Ernst, junior Alexandra Trobe, sophomore Liz Harrison and freshman Noel Niccum earned most inspirational awards.

The team Coaches Award, given to the swimmer who gave an extraordinary commitment to personal and team goals, went to junior Heather Ireland. The Coronado, Calif., native had a breakout season for the Falcons, cracking the school Top 10 list in the 100 and 200 backstroke events. Ireland swam the third-fastest Academy time in the 100 back (57.36) and the eighth-fastest 200 back time (2:06.74).

In addition to earning senior most inspirational, Katharine Ernst, a Folsom, Calif., native, was honored as the senior who contributed the most to AFA women's swimming success in their career. Ernst capped off her four years at the Academy by setting the school record in the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:01.94 at the Mountain West Championships.



Air Force also named rising senior Haley Holcombe, from Snellville, Ga., as its team captain for the 2011-12 season.
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago