Air Force Blanks VMI, 3-0, In Day Two Action At Falcon Invitational

    Sophomore forward Eryn Avjian.
    Sophomore forward Eryn Avjian.

    Sept. 26, 2010

    AF-VMI Box | UNLV-Weber St. Box

    USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - The Air Force women's soccer notched its fifth shutout of the year with a 3-0 win over VMI Sunday afternoon in day two action at the Falcon Invitational at the Cadet Soccer Stadium. The win improved the Falcons to 7-4-1 the season dropped the Keydets to 1-9. UNLV (7-4) captured the Falcon Invite title with a 1-0 win in game two over Weber State (1-10).

    Eryn Avjian scored four minutes into the match and Air Force never looked back. Megan Dozier and Bridgett Murphy also scored for the Falcons.

    Air Force out-shot VMI 37-5 in the game. Five Falcons recorded at least four shots.

    Avjian netted her second goal of the season at the 4:17 mark on a well-placed pass from Murphy. Murphy brought the ball into the box from the right end line and chipped the ball to the middle where Avjian was in place to one-time the shot into the net.

    Despite the large shot differential, VMI hung in the game as the next score did not come until the 73rd minute. Dozier made it a 2-0 game as she took a pass from Leah Bratt and scored from eight yards out.

    Murphy put the finishing touches on the game with a goal in the 88th minute, her third of the year. Megan Dozier brought the ball in from the right end line and passed to the middle of the box, where Murphy sent the ball into the net from eight yards out.

    Junior Sharon Aradine recorded the shutout for the Falcons, notching two saves in the start.

    Two Falcons, Murphy and Meagan Eissele, were named to the all-tournament team.



    In game two, Macy Jo Harrison's goal in the 22nd minute lifted UNLV to a 1-0 win and tournament title over Weber State.

    Air Force returns to action Friday, Oct. 1, opening Mountain West Conference play by hosting Utah. Kickoff time has been moved back one hour to a 7 p.m. start.

    Falcon Invitational All-Tournament

    Caitlin Allen
    Amanda Forrester
    Sarah Naranjo
    Ashleigh Shoughro

    Weber State
    Sarah Mager
    Ryann Waldman
    Ari Wood

    Meagan Eissele
    Bridgett Murphy

    Kelly Morrison
    Sarah Strand

    Inside Women's Soccer