Air Force Women's Basketball Holds Annual Awards Banquet
Senior Camille Thompson

April 21, 2014

USAFA, Colo. - The 2013-14 award winners for the Air Force women's basketball team were honored Friday evening as part of the team's annual banquet. Earning top honors was senior Camille Thompson (McDonough, Ga.), who was selected as the MVP for the 2013-14 season.

Thompson, who ranks second all-time at the Academy in career games played (118), averaged 10.7 points, 3.6 rebounds and 2.4 assists per contest this season. Thompson led the Falcons in blocked shots with 13, while ranking second in points (309), steals (26) and rebounds (103) and third in assists (69). She also was the top free-throw shooter for Air Force, knocking down 44-of-58 attempts (.759) from the charity stripe.

The defensive player of the year award went to freshman Myah Jackson, while junior Jimi Blagowsky received the Iron Bolt Award, given to the player who demonstrates the greatest commitment to the team's strength & conditioning program.

Sophomore Missy Byrd (Decatur, Ga.) was recognized for having the top field goal percentage on the team, shooting 48.5 percent from the field this season, a mark that ranks as the second-highest single-season field goal percentage in the Falcons' Division I era. Meanwhile, sophomore Madeleine Philpot (Mobile, Ala.) was honored as the team's leading rebounder, after averaging 4.2 boards per game.

Rounding out the list of award winners was senior Cherae Medina (Denver, Colo.). Medina, who received the captains' award along with fellow seniors Thompson and Michelle Ivey (Stone Mountain, Ga.), was named the recipient of the Loudermilk-Chavez Leadership Award. The award, named for a pair of former Air Force women's basketball players who lost their lives, is bestowed upon the player who demonstrates the highest leadership qualities, as voted on by her teammates.



2013-14 Air Force Women's Basketball Awards
Captains' Award:
Michelle Ivey, Sr./Cherae Medina, Sr./Camille Thompson, Sr.
Top Free Throw Percentage: Camille Thompson, Sr.
Top Field Goal Percentage: Missy Byrd, So.
Leading Rebounder: Madeleine Philpot, So.
Iron Bolt Award: Jimi Blagowsky, Jr.
Defensive Player of the Year: Myah Jackson, Fr.
Most Valuable Player: Camille Thompson, Sr.
Loudermilk-Chavez Leadership Award: Cherae Medina, Sr.

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago