Air Force Women's Basketball Announces 2010-11 Awards

April 19, 2011

Photo Gallery

USAFA, Colo. - The 2010-11 awardwinners for the Air Force women's basketball team were honored Tuesday evening as part of the team's annual banquet. Earning top honors was senior captain Raimee Beck, who was selected by her teammates as the MVP for the 2010-11 season.

Beck, the Falcons' lone senior, was an outstanding all-around performer this year, finishing the season with 11.4 points and 5.2 rebounds per game, ranking second on the team in both categories. She led the Falcons in both three-point field goals made (54) and free throw percentage (.836), while ranking second on the team in assists (71), blocks (7) and steals (37).

Meanwhile, Beck closed out her career as one of the most decorated players in program history, setting all-time records for games played and started (118), three-point field goals made and attempted and free-throw percentage, as well as Division I era records in points (1,386), scoring average (11.7), assists (278) and steals (157). Beck is also the only player in Academy history to rank in the top 10 all-time in career points (fifth), assists (sixth) and rebounds (seventh).

In addition to earning team MVP honors, Beck was also named the recipient of the Loudermilk-Chavez Leadership Award, while being recognized for leading the team in season free-throw percentage and receiving the captains' award.

The Falcons' award for defensive player of the year went to sophomore Katie Hilbig (Castle Rock, Colo.). One of Air Force's quickest and most aggressive defenders, Hilbig started 14 games during the MWC season and finished the year with 19 steals and five blocks.

Sophomore Dymond James (Brambleton, Va.), who finished the season as the Falcons' top scorer with 11.5 points per game, received recognition as Air Force's leader in field goal percentage (.439) and rebounding (6.8). James finished the season ranked 10th in the Mountain West Conference in rebounds per game and was ninth in defensive rebounds per contest with 5.2.

Starting point guard Megan Muniz (So., Albuquerque, N.M.) was the recipient of the "Triple Threat" Academic Award, bestowed upon cadets whose core, cumulative and semester GPAs are all at least 3.0. Meanwhile, junior Jamela Satterfield (Sacramento, Calif.) earned the Iron Bolt Award, given to the player who demonstrates the greatest commitment to the team's strength & conditioning program.

The Falcons finished the season with a 9-22 overall record, surpassing their season win total from the past two years combined, while also posting a 3-13 record in Mountain West Conference action, snapping a 40-game conference losing streak. Air Force also became the first nine seed in MWC Championship history to defeat a four-seed, as the Falcons knocked off Colorado State in the opening round of the conference tournament.

2010-11 Air Force Women's Basketball Awards
Captains' Award: Raimee Beck, Sr.
Top Free Throw Percentage: Raimee Beck, Sr.
Top Field Goal Percentage: Dymond James, So.
Leading Rebounder: Dymond James, So.
"Triple Threat" Academic Award: Megan Muniz, So.
Iron Bolt Award: Jamela Satterfield, Jr.
Defensive Player of the Year: Katie Hilbig, So.
Most Valuable Player: Raimee Beck, Sr.
Loudermilk-Chavez Leadership Award: Raimee Beck, Sr.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago