Four Air Force Wrestlers Earn MWC Scholar-Athlete Recognition

    July 7, 2010

    COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Four Air Force wrestlers have been named Mountain West Conference Scholar-Athletes, as announced by the league. Earning the honors for the 2009-10 season were recent graduate Joshua Smith and rising sophomores Jared Erickson, Brandon Mueller and Daniel Nissen. Smith earns the second MWC Scholar-Athlete accolades of his career, while Erickson, Mueller and Nissen are all first-time honorees.

    Smith, a native of Orem, Utah, graduated from the Academy in May, compiling a 3.68 GPA as an aeronautical engineer. A two-time Western Wrestling Conference all-academic performer, Smith was the recipient of the Falcons' Commitment to Excellence Award for the 2009-10 season.

    Erickson, a native of Newton, Utah, holds a 3.58 GPA as a civil engineering major. Meanwhile, Mueller (Greenleaf, Wis.) and Nissen (Denver, Colo.), who both have undeclared majors, carry a 3.72 and 3.55 GPA, respectively. Erickson and Mueller were both two-time placewinners during the 2009-10 season, while Nissen was a placewinner at the Rocky Mountain Collegiate Open in January.

    For the 2009-10 season, 548 student-athletes were named Mountain West Conference Scholar-Athletes. The MWC Scholar-Athlete Award is the highest academic honor bestowed by the Conference. To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least two academic terms at the member institution, while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better, and have participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.

    2009-10 MWC Scholar Athletes Get Acrobat Reader



    Inside Wrestling