Fifteen Falcons Earn WWC Academic Honors
Freshman Adam Jackson

June 4, 2013

OREM, Utah - Air Force wrestlers Jared Erickson, Dylan Hyder and Jesse Stafford have all been named to the Western Wrestling Conference All-Academic Team, as announced by the league on Tuesday. Meanwhile, 12 other Falcons were named to the Coaches' Honor Roll for the 2012-13 season.

This year's WWC academic awards honor a total of 64 student-athletes from the six conference schools. Air Force had the most wrestlers on the two combined teams with a total of 15, while South Dakota State was next with 14 honorees.

To qualify for the All-Academic team, student-athletes had to secure a minimum 3.20 grade point average, be a starter or key reserve and be a sophomore or higher in academic standing. This year's WWC All-Academic squad honors 18 student-athletes. Meanwhile, the Coaches' Honor Roll recognizes student-athletes who have maintained a 3.0 grade point average. This year's Coaches' Honor Roll is comprised of 46 WWC student-athletes.

Erickson, a 2013 graduate from Newton, Utah, earned the third WWC All-Academic honor of his career after being named to the Coaches' Honor Roll as a freshman. He compiled a 13-4 record for the 2012-13 season and graduated with a 3.59 GPA in civil engineering.

Hyder, who was named to the Coaches' Honor Roll as a freshman, earns his first WWC All-Academic team selection with a 3.34 GPA in operations research. The rising junior from Yelm, Wash., posted a 21-14 record this past season, winning the NCAA West Regional title at 133 pounds and qualifying for his first NCAA Championship.

Stafford also earns his first WWC All-Academic team honor after being named to the Coaches' Honor Roll as a freshman in 2011. A rising junior from Loomis, Calif., Stafford registered a 23-13 overall record as the Falcons' starter at 165 pounds. Stafford, along with Hyder, was also named to the NWCA All-Academic team last month.



Meanwhile, earning spots on the Coaches' Honor Roll for Air Force were Dan Barringer (Jr., Monument, Colo.), Adam Jackson (Fr., Rosemount, Minn.), Cody Hancock (So., Wrightwood, Calif.), Vance Hawk (Jr., Ridgway, Colo.), Devin Hightower (Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo.), Lucas Lambrecht (Fr., Sheboygan Falls, Wis.), Marcus Malecek (Fr., Hammond, Wis.), Chris Morales (Jr., Rio Rancho, N.M.), Jason Mossing (So., Sylvania, Ohio), Brandon Mueller (Sr., Greenleaf, Wis.), Daniel Nissen (Sr., Denver, Colo.), and Nathan Volk (Fr., Champaign, Ill.). Jackson, a rising sophomore, holds the Falcons' highest GPA, with a 3.76 grade point average as a biology major.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of six schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, South Dakota State, Utah Valley State and Wyoming.

2012-13 WWC All-Academic Team
Chase Cuthbertson (UVU), 157, RFr., 3.51 GPA, Accounting
Jared Erickson (AF), HWT, Sr., 3.59 GPA, Civil Engineering
Avery Garner (UVU), 141, Jr., 3.42 GPA, Exercise Science
John Gusewelle (NDSU), 285, So., 3.27 GPA, Mechanical Engineering
Tanner Harms (WYO), HWT, RFr., 3.86 GPA, Mechanical Engineering
Alfonso Hernandez (WYO), 197, Sr., 3.64 GPA, Mechanical Engineering
Dylan Hyder (AF), 133, So., 3.34 GPA, Operations Research
Evan Knutson (NDSU), 285, So., 3.68 GPA, University Studies
Charles McMartin (NC), 165, So., 3.64, English: Secondary Teaching
Steven Monk (NDSU), 165, Jr., 3.20 GPA, Physical/Health Education
Leland Pfeifer (WYO), HWT, So., 3.57 GPA, Geography
Aaron Pickrel (SDSU), 125, Sr., 3.79 GPA, Biology/Pre-Med
Michael Poulos (WYO), 174, Sr., 3.60 GPA, Kinesiology and Health Promotion
Monte Schmalhaus (UVU), 174, Jr., 3.30 GPA, Exercise Science
Joe Skow (SDSU), 197, Sr., 3.46 GPA, Sociology
Trent Sprenkle (NDSU), 125, Sr., 3.70 GPA, University Studies
Jesse Stafford (AF), 165, So., 3.57 GPA, Civil Engineering
Josh Wilson (UVU), 149, Sr., 3.61 GPA, Accounting/Marketing

2012-13 WWC Coaches' Honor Roll
Nickolas Alspaugh (UNC); Dan Barringer (AF); Kevin Caruso (SDSU); Kyle Cuthbertson (UVU); Jake Eitzen (UW); Mark Erickson (NDSU); J.J. Everard (SDSU); Adam Fager (UVU); Cole Ford (UW); Ben Gillette (SDSU); Cody Hancock (AF); Vance Hawk (AF); Devin Hightower (AF); Adam Jackson (AF); Will James (SDSU); Paul Johnson (NDSU); Tyler Johnson (SDSU); Kallen Kleinschmidt (NDSU); Alex Kocer (SDSU); Lucas Lambrecht (AF); Brian Macchione (UNC); Derek Malan (UVU); Marcus Malecek (AF); Sam Mecham (UVU); Caleb Meide (NDSU); Josh Metivier (UVU); Chris Morales (AF); Jason Mossing (AF); Brandon Mueller (AF); John Nething II (SDSU); Bracken Nipko (UVU); Daniel Nissen (AF); Eric Orozxo (SDSU); Mitchell Polkowske (UNC); Joe Rasmussen (SDSU); Tucker Ray (UVU); Ben Schwery (SDSU); Brance Simms (SDSU); Mac Stoll (NDSU); Ben Stroh (UW); Glenn Terrano (UVU); Derek Thomas (UVU); Joshua VanTine (UNC); Nathan Volk (AF); Hunter Weber (NDSU); Andrew Youngblom (SDSU)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago