Sixteen Falcons Earn WWC Academic Honors

June 4, 2010

LARAMIE, Wyo. - A pair of Air Force wrestlers have been named to the Western Wrestling Conference All-Academic Team, as announced by the league today. Meanwhile, 14 other Falcons were named to the Coaches' Honor Roll for the 2009-10 season.

This year's WWC academic awards will honor a total of 56 student-athletes from the seven conference schools. For the second-straight season, Air Force has the most academic honorees of any conference institution.

To qualify for the All-Academic team, student-athletes had to secure a minimum 3.20 grade point average, be a starter or key reserve and be a sophomore or higher in academic standing. This year's WWC All-Academic squad honors 20 student-athletes. Meanwhile, the Coaches' Honor Roll recognizes student-athletes who have maintained a 3.0 grade point average. This year's Coaches' Honor Roll is comprised of 36 WWC student-athletes.

Named to the WWC All-Academic Team for Air Force were senior Joshua Smith (Orem, Utah) and junior Neil Delaney (Grand Rapids, Mich.). Smith, who was the recipient of the Falcons' Commitment to Excellence Award this season, graduated last week with a 3.68 GPA as an aeronautical engineering major. Meanwhile, Delaney, the Falcons' starter at 197 pounds this season, currently holds a 3.38 GPA in systems engineering management.

In addition, earning spots on the Coaches' Honor Roll for Air Force were Caleb Egli (So., Colorado Springs, Colo.), Jared Erickson (Fr., Newton, Utah), Michael Erickson (Sr., Springfield, Va.), Jonathan Fonbuena (Fr., Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.), Thomas Gorry (Sr., Hickory, N.C.), Kazden Ikehara (Jr., Mililani, Hawaii), Josh Larson (Jr., Windsor, Colo.), Stephen Larson (Sr., Lakeville, Minn.), Josh Mohr (Fr., Pewaukee, Wis.), Brandon Mueller (Fr., Greenleaf, Wis.), Daniel Nissen (Fr., Denver, Colo.), Mengyuan Qiu (Fr., Glendale, Ariz.), Dake Williams (Fr., Gaithersburg, Md.) and Lee Wise (Fr., O'Fallon, Ill.).



The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of seven schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley State and Wyoming.

2009-10 WWC All-Academic Team
Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming), 149, Jr. - 3.36, Range Ecology/Watershed Management
Tyler Davis (Wyoming), 157, So. - 3.33, Finance
Neil Delaney (Air Force), 197, Jr. - 3.38, Systems Engineering Management
Casen Eldredge (UVU), 184/Hwt., Jr. - 3.29, Business Management/Entrepreneurship
Charlie Ettelson (UNI), 149, RSr. - 3.46, Biology
Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming), 197, So. - 3.40, Kinesiology/Health Promotion
Tyler Johnson (NDSU), 165, So. - 4.00, Biology (pre-dental)
Brandon Kammerzell (UNC), 174, So. - 3.20, Accounting/Finance
Kevin Kelly (SDSU), Hwt., RJr. - 3.30, Health/Physical Education & Recreation
Ed Matthews (UNC), 197, Jr. - 3.78, Biological Sciences/Secondary Teaching
David Michaud (SDSU), 184, RSo. - 3.29, Journalism
Seth Moe (SDSU), 149, Fr. - 3.59, Pre-Pharmacy
Justin Morrill (UVU), 149, Jr. - 3.57, Social Work
Jeffrey Newby (UVU), 141, Sr. - 3.75, Business Management/International Business
Aaron Pickrel (SDSU), 125, RFr. - 3.90, Pre-Medicine
Joe Rasmussen (SDSU), 174, Fr. - 3.27, Civil Engineering
Flint Ray (UVU), 133, Jr. - 3.76, Business Management/International Business
Vince Salminen (NDSU), 157, Jr. - 3.26, Construction Management
Joshua Smith (Air Force), 174, Sr. - 3.68, Aeronautical Engineering
Justin Solberg (NDSU), 125, So. - 3.66, Finance

2009-10 WWC Coaches' Honor Roll
David Alvarez (UNC); Brett Bahe (UNC); Dustin Bauman (UNI); Bryce Drefke (SDSU); Caleb Egli (Air Force); Jared Erickson (Air Force); Mark Erickson (NDSU); Michael Erickson (Air Force); Jonathan Fonbuena (Air Force); Clay Frost (UVU); Thomas Gorry (Air Force); Nick Hagar (SDSU); Kazden Ikehara (Air Force); Ryan Jauch (UNI); Tyler Johnson (NDSU); Will Johnson (NDSU); Ben Kjar (UVU); Joshua Larson (Air Force); Stephen Larson (Air Force); Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming); Josh Mohr (Air Force); Brandon Mueller (Air Force); Daniel Nissen (Air Force); Kevin O'Brien (UNC); Joe O'Farrell (Wyoming); Michael Poulos (Wyoming); Mengyuan Qiu (Air Force); Wyatt Ray (UVU); Monte Schmalhaus (UVU); Jeremy Swier (SDSU); Justin Tuell (UNC); Cory VomBaur (Wyoming); Tyler Wells (NDSU); Dake Williams (Air Force); Josh Wilson (UVU); Lee Wise (Air Force)

Oct 16 Athlete of the Week_Denise Ssozi
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago