Falcon Wrestling Announces Annual Award Winners
April 17, 2017

After a strong season that produced a collection of eight individual tournament titles, three Big 12 place-winning finishes and 54 total place-winning finishes over nine tournaments this season, Air Force's season came to a ceremonial close on Saturday evening in the Blue & Silver Club of Falcon Stadium. Boosters, fans, coaches and student-athletes gathered for dinner and a program that featured individual team awards, recognition of first-time letter winners and speeches from distinguished guests and alumni.

The Falcon coaching staff handed out a collection of awards to Air Force wrestlers that honored a variety of accomplishments ranging from academic, to attitude, to athletic achievement including the inaugural Don Henderson Outstanding Wrestler Award. A full list of the award winners appears below.

Commitment to Excellence Award: Parker Hines
Scholar Athlete Award: Dylan Hyder, Anthony McHugh
Coaches Appreciation Award: Zen Ikehara, Kerry Powers
The Kevin Hoy Most Improved Wrestler Award: Anthony McLaughlin, Dylan Hyder
The Frank “Bruiser” Bryant Warrior Award: Alex Mossing
The Wayne Baughman A-10 Warthog Award: Alex Lopouchanski
The Iron Bolt Award: Connor Hedash
The Don Henderson Outstanding Wrestler Award: Jerry McGinty

With the team banquet now in the books, Air Force now transitions into offseason mode as wrestlers train for freestyle and Greco competitions and team sets its sights toward the 2017-18 NCAA season, which will kick off in November.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago