Crozier Named to WWC All-Conference Team

April 8, 2009

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - Air Force senior captain Stephen Crozier (Monona, Iowa) has been named to the 2008-09 Western Wrestling Conference all-conference team, as announced by the league today. Individuals earned their spots on the respective teams with their finish at the 2009 NCAA West Regional on March 7 in Greeley, Colo.

Crozier is an All-WWC second-team selection for the second-consecutive year after placing as the runner-up at 174 pounds at this year's West Regional. Crozier, who started the season wrestling at 165 pounds, compiled a 5-2 record as the starter at 174 pounds, including a 3-1 mark at the West Regional. Crozier, who entered the meet as the fourth-seed, knocked off top-seed Jarion Beets of UNI in the semi-finals before dropping the championship bout versus second-seeded and nationally ranked Shane Onufer of Wyoming. In the true second place match, Crozier then went on to post an 11-2 major decision over SDSU's Scott Elliott, seeded third in the tournament.

Crozier, a third-team All-WWC honoree in 2007 and three-time academic all-conference selection, ended the 2009 season with a 25-16 overall record, leading the Falcons in total wins for the second-straight season.

Wyoming led the conference with nine All-WWC picks, including four first-team honorees, while West Regional champion added eight all-conference selections, also with four first-team picks. Northern Colorado, which had the other two spots on the first team, finished with six wrestlers earning all-league honors. Each school that competed at the 2009 West Regional had at least one individual on the all-conference squads.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of seven schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley State and Wyoming. The conference formed in April 2006.

2009 WWC All-Conference Team
125 - First Team: Michael Martinez (Wyoming); Second Team: Tony Mustari (UNC); Third Team: Justin Solberg (NDSU)
133 - First Team: Cory VomBaur (Wyoming); Second Team: Brett Bahe (UNC); Third Team: Steven Fitzgerald (UNI)
141 - First Team: Trent Washington (UNI); Second Team: Kenny Hashimoto (UNC); Third Team: Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming)
149 - First Team: Mitchell Polkowske (UNC); Second Team: Ryan Adams (NDSU); Third Team: Trevor Kittleson (UNI)
157 - First Team: Justin Gaethje (UNC); Second Team: Tyson Reiner (UNI); Third Team: Eric Coxbill (Wyoming)
165 - First Team: Moza Fay (UNI); Second Team: Alex Rieder (Wyoming); Third Team: Tyler Johnson (NDSU)
174 - First Team: Shane Onufer (Wyoming); Second Team: Stephen Crozier (Air Force); Third Team: Scott Elliott (SDSU)
184 - First Team: Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming); Second Team: Alex Dolly (UNI); Third Team: Ryan Johnson (UNC)
197 - First Team: Andrew Anderson (UNI); Second Team: Tyler Sorenson (SDSU); Third Team: Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming)
285 - First Team: Christian Brantley (UNI); Second Team: Jason Stripling (SDSU); Third Team: Jacob Scharbrough (Wyoming)



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago