Three Falcons Make it to Second Day of Big 12 Tournament
March 4, 2017

Day 2 Brackets Get Acrobat Reader 

TULSA, Okla. – Three Falcons battled to secure spots in the consolation semi-finals of the Big 12 Championship tournament, Saturday evening, in Tulsa, Oklahoma’s, BOK Center. Senior team captain Jerry McGinty, senior-133 Dylan Hyder and sophomore-157 Alex Mossing secured podium finishes and will now compete for NCAA bids in the third session of the Big 12 tournament.

The Oklahoma State Cowboys sent all 10 wrestlers to the finals during the first day of action. This marks the first time in conference history any school has advanced all of their athletes to the final round of action. Oklahoma, North Dakota State and West Virginia both advanced two wrestlers, while Northern Colorado, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming all placed one.

In the opening round of sixteen, seven Falcons took to the mats to battle through the championship bracket. Hyder opened with a 10-1 major decision over Ronnie Stevens of Wyoming, while Michael Billingsley posted an 8-0 major decision over Ty Millward of West Virginia. Freshman heavyweight Kerry Powers registered a 1-0 decision over Northern Colorado’s Jack Kuck.

Drew Romero, John Twomey, Ricky Padilla and Zen Ikehara dropped their opening bouts and proceeded to the consolation round of eight.

In the championship quarter-finals, Air Force sustained six losses, sending the entire squad to the consolation bracket. Four of the six matches were against top-15 nationally ranked opponents. Hyder fell to No. 3 Kaid Brock of Oklahoma State. Oklahoma’s Davion Jefferies, the thirteenth-ranked wrestler at 149, rallied to a come-from-behind win over McGinty in the final five seconds of the bout. Billingsley dropped a 19-7 major decision to No. 9 Kyle Crutchmer of Oklahoma State. Austin Shafer, the sixth-ranked heavyweight, posted a fall over Powers.

In the consolation of eight, Hyder, Billingsley, Ikehara and Powers won their bouts to proceed to the next round, while Romero, Twomey and Padilla dropped their matches and were eliminated from the tournament. Powers led the charge in the consolation of eight with a 16-0 technical fall over Brandon Ngati of West Virginia.

In the consolation round of four, Billingsley, Ikehara, Anthony McLaughlin and Powers were eliminated from the tournament. Hyder posted an 8-6 decision over Cory Stainbrook of West Virginia, while McGinty edged by Christian Monserrat, also of West Virginia, 7-6. Mossing defeated Utah Valley’s Raider Lofthouse, 4-3.

Hyder, McGinty and Mossing secured top-six finishes with their wins; one more than last season’s outcome. If Hyder and McGinty win their first match of session three they will be positioned to qualify for the NCAA tournament; however, there will be a possibility for a true-fourth match if they have not already beat the winner of the fifth-place match.

OSU sits atop of the team standings with a total 155.5 points. Oklahoma and South Dakota State sit in second and third with 64.5 points and 63 points, respectively. North Dakota State tallied 58.5, while Iowa State recorded 40 and West Virginia posted 37.5 points. Wyoming sits in seventh and Northern Colorado comes in eighth. Utah Valley and Air Force round out the field.

The Falcon trio returns to action in the third session of the tournament, Sunday, March 5, at 8:00 a.m. CT. Session three will be broadcast by FloWrestling. The finals will be broadcast live on Fox Sports.

Match Results

Round of 16
125: Mitch Brown (UVU) def. Drew Romero (AFA) –5-3
133: Dylan Hyder (AFA) def. Ronnie Stevens (WYO) –MD (10-1)
141: Taylor Nein (NDSU) def. John Twomey (AFA) –2-1
165: Logan Breitenbach (ISU) def. Ricky Padilla (AFA) –MD (20-4)
174: Michael Billingsley (AFA) def. Ty Millward (WVU) –MD (8-0)
184: Andrew Dixon (OU) def. Zen Ikehara (AFA) –3-1 SV1
285: Kerry Powers (AFA) def. Jack Kuck (UNC) –1-0

133: #3 Kaid Brock (OSU) def. Dylan Hyder (AFA) –F (2:13)
149: #13 Davion Jeffries (OU) def. Jerry McGinty (AFA) –7-6
157: Archie Colgan (WYO) def. Alex Mossing (AFA) –7-2 TB2
174: #9 Kyle Crutchmer (OSU) def. Michael Billingsley (AFA) –MD (19-7)
197: Brad Johnson (OU) def. Anthony McLaughlin (AFA) –4-0
285: #6 Austin Schafer (OSU) def. Kerry Powers (AFA) –F (1:38)

Consolation of 8 #2
125: Ben Gillette (SDSU) def. Drew Romero (AFA) –F (5:54)
133: Dylan Hyder (AFA) def. Jarod Maynes (UVU) –10-4
141: Joe Wheeling (WVU) def. John Twomey (AFA) –MD 11-3
165: Keilan Torres (UNC) def. Ricky Padilla (AFA) –8-3
174: Michael Billingsley (AFA) def. Dalton Robertson (UNC) –10-5
184: Zen Ikehara (AFA) def. Lucas Lovvorn (WYO) –3-1
285: Kerry Powers (AFA) def. Brandon Ngati (WVU) –TF (18-0)

Consolation of 4
133: Dylan Hyder (AFA) def. Cory Stainbrook (WVU) –8-6 SV1
149: Jerry McGinty (AFA) def. Christian Monserrat (WVU) –7-6
157: Alex Mossing (AFA) def. Raider Lofthouse (UVU) –4-3
174: Kyle Pope (WYO) Michael Billingsley (AFA) –10-3
184: Parker VonEdigy (WVU) def. Zen Ikehara (AFA) –5-2
197: Marcus Harrington (ISU) def. Anthony McLaughlin (AFA) –5-4
285: Quean Smith (ISU) def. Kerry Powers (AFA) –5-1



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago