Two Falcons Make the Second Day of Big 12 Championship
March 3, 2018

Big 12 Championship - Session III Brackets Get Acrobat Reader 

TULSA, Okla. – Dane Robbins and Alex Mossing battled their way into the second day of action at the 2018 Big 12 Championship, Friday afternoon, in Tulsa’s BOK Center.  The duo have guaranteed themselves a top-six finish but will compete for a third-place finish and potential bids into the NCAA championship tournament.

Six Falcons won their opening bout in the round of 16, advancing to the championship quarter-finals.  Senior Michael Billingsley led the Falcons with a 39-second fall over Seth Bogulski (Northern Colorado) in the 174 class. Isaac Jimenez (133), Mossing (157), Alex Lopouchanski (165), Zen Ikehara (184) and Anthony McLaughlin (197) earned decision wins in their respective classes.

To the Falcons’ dismay, all six would fall in their championship quarter-finals bouts. Lopouchanski, who was performing at a high level, injury defaulted out with a leg injury in his match with Chandler Rogers (Oklahoma State).

In the consolation round of eight Alec Opsal and Matt Wagner were eliminated from the tournament. Four of the six Falcons with first-round consolation byes kept their tournament hopes alive, led by team captain Ikehara’s fall over Charley Popp (North Dakota State) in 3:49.  DeCesare, Billingsley and McLaughlin were eliminated from the tournament in the same round. Jimenez and Ikehara were eliminated in the following consolation of four.

Robbins picked up a 4-2 win over Khristian Gaxiola (Fresno State) to secure his spot in the second day of action.  Mossing was the first wrestler to eliminate and Oklahoma State wrestler with a 9-7 decision over Tristan Moran.  Mossing secured his second-straight Big 12 Championship podium finish in as many tries.

Robbins will open day two action against Jarrett Degen (ISU) while teammate Mossing will take on Chase Straw (ISU), in the consolation semi-finals. Matches are slated to start at 12 p.m. CT.

Round of 16
125: Jay Schwarm (UNI) Fall Tony DeCesare (AF) –3:39
133: Isaac Jimenez (AF) Dec. Jack Wagner (UNI) –13-7
141: Mike Longo (OU) Dec. Alec Opsal (AF) –9-7
149: Kyler Rea (WVU) Dec. Dane Robbins –5-4
157: Alex Mossing (AF) Dec. Tyler KInn (UNC) –12-5
165: Alex Lopouchanski (AF) Dec. Isaiah Patton (UNI) –4-2 TB2
174: Michael Billingsley (AF) Fall Seth Bogulski (UNC) –0:39
184: Zen Ikehara (AF) Dec. Brenden McRill (WVU) –5-2
197: Anthony McLaughlin (AF) Dec. Andrew Dixon (OU) –2-1 SV1
285: Sam Eagan (WYO) Dec. Matt Wagner (AF) –6-4 TB2

133: Seth Gross (SDSU) Fall Isaac Jimenez (AF) –3:50
157: Archie Colgan (WYO) MD Alex Mossing (AF) –14-2
165: Chandler Rogers (OSU) Def. Alex Lopouchanski (AF) –INJ. DEF.
174: Yoanse Mejias (OU) Dec. Michael Billingsley (AF) –11-7
184: Drew Foster (UNI) Dec. Zen Ikehara (AF) –7-2
197: Preston Weigel (OSU) Dec. Anthony McLaughlin (AF) –9-3

Consolation of 8 #2
125: Connor Brown (SDSU) Dec. Tony DeCesare (AF) –6-2
133: Isaac Jimenez (AF) Dec. Jake Rubio (OU) –8-6 SV1
141: Ian Parker (ISU) Dec. Alec Opsal (AF) –5-0
149: Dane Robbins (AF) Dec. Kyle Gliva (NDSU) –4-3 TB2
157: Alex Mossing (AF) MD Greg Gaxiola (FSU) –13-0
174: Parker VonEgidy (WVU) Dec. Michael Billingsley (AF) –8-2
184: Zen Ikehara (AF) Fall Charley Popp (NDSU) –3:49
197: Cordell Eaton (NDSU) Dec. Anthony McLaughlin (AF) –3-1 SV1
285: Carter Isely (UNI) TF Matt Wagner (AF) –16-1

Consolation of 4
133: Rico Montoya (UNC) MD Isaac Jimenez (AF) –14-5
149: Dane Robbins (AF) Dec. Khristian Olivas (FSU) –4-2
157: Alex Mossing (AF) Dec. Tristan Moran (OSU) –9-7
184: Chaz Polson (WYO) Dec. Zen Ikehara (AF) –3-1



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago