Three Falcons Honored by Western Water Polo Association

    Freshman Riley Quinlan
    Freshman Riley Quinlan

    Nov. 19, 2013

    LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Three Air Force water polo players were honored by the Western Water Polo Association today, as the league announced its annual awards, voted on by the league's coaches. Senior Josh Stedman was named a first-team All-WWPA selection, classmate Andrew Hamilton earned second-team all-conference recognition and rookie Riley Quinlan was named to the WWPA All-Freshman Team.

    Stedman earns his third-straight first-team All-WWPA selection, becoming just the fourth Falcon to be named a three-time first-team all-conference honoree and the first since Brian Pendergast and Craig Thomas in 1996. The attacker from Brea, Calif., currently leads the Falcons in goals (41) and total points (54), while also recording a team-best 29 steals on the season. In addition, the 2012 honorable mention All-American currently ranks fifth in Air Force history in career goals scored (177) and ninth in career points (243).

    Hamilton, the Falcons' starting center, receives the first all-conference honors for the first time in his career. The Mechanicsburg, Pa., native ranks third on the team in goals scored this season with 17 and is second on the team with 1.3 goals per contest. Meanwhile, Quinlan, a utility player from Los Altos, Calif., was honored as an all-freshman team member, recording four goals, three assists and four steals while playing all 18 games for Air Force.

    In addition to releasing its all-conference teams, the WWPA also announced the winners of this year's major awards. UC Davis senior Bernie Rogers was named the WWPA Player of the Year, while Loyola Marymount freshman Cory McGee was named the league's Newcomer of the Year. The Coach of the Year award will be announced at a later date.



    Air Force heads to the 2013 Western Water Polo Association Championship, hosted by UC Davis, this week, Nov. 22-24. The fifth-seeded Falcons will face fourth-seed Loyola Marymount in the first round, with the winner advancing to the semi-finals on Saturday.

    2013 Western Water Polo Association Men's Water Polo Honors
    Player of the Year:
    Bernie Rogers (Sr.) - Driver - UC Davis
    Newcomer of the Year: Cory McGee (Fr.) - Utility - Loyola Marymount

    First-Team All-WWPA
    Joe Dietrich (Jr., Defender) - UC San Diego
    Milutin Mitrovic (So., Attack) - Loyola Marymount
    Matt Pritchett (Jr., Goalie) - Santa Clara
    Matt Puig (Sr., 2M) - Cal Baptist
    Cameron Ravenbach (Jr., Goalie) - UC San Diego
    Bernie Rogers (Sr., Driver) - UC Davis
    Josh Stedman (Sr., Attack) - Air Force
    Patrick Weiss (RSr., Defender) - Santa Clara

    Second-Team All-WWPA
    Trevor Allen (Jr., Driver) - UC Davis
    Tommy Friedrich (Sr., Utility) - UC San Diego
    Andrew Hamilton (Sr., Center) - Air Force
    Joey Moorman (Fr., Goalie) - Cal Baptist
    Theo Nasser (RSr., 2M) - Santa Clara
    Chris Richardson (Jr., Utility) - UC Davis
    David Rodriguez (Sr., Utility) - Cal Baptist
    Kirk Wilenius (Fr., Goalie) - Loyola Marymount

    Honorable Mention All-WWPA
    Tucker Carlson, (Sr., 2M) - Santa Clara
    Joe Ferretti (Jr., Utility) - Loyola Marymount
    David Higginson (Jr., Attacker) - UC San Diego
    Keith Jizmejian (Sr., Utility) - Cal Baptist
    Cory McGee (Fr., Utility) - Loyola Marymount
    Matt Michalko (Jr., Center) - UC San Diego
    Jimmy Moore (RSr., Driver) - Santa Clara

    WWPA All-Freshman Team
    Matt Cuozzo - Loyola Marymount
    Zoltan Lazar - UC Davis
    Joey Moorman - Cal Baptist
    Cory McGee - Loyola Marymount
    Graham McClone - Santa Clara
    Andrew Moore - UC San Diego
    Riley Quinlan - Air Force
    Max Vigeant - UC Davis

    Inside Men's Water Polo