Five Air Force water polo players earn all-conference honors
Nov. 18, 2014

Nov. 18, 2014

U.S AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo.  – Five Air Force water polo players earned all-conference honors, as announced today by the Western Water Polo Association.

Sophomore Robby Stiefel (San Clemente, Calif.) was a first-team selection as he led the team with 49 assists and 61 steals. He was third on the team with 39 goals.  Stiefel led the conference in steals per game with 2.18 and was fourth in assists per game with 1.75.

Senior  Petar Jackovich (New Lenox, Ill.) was named second-team all-conference. Jackovich was fifth on the team with 25 goals and also had 14 assists and 13 steals.

Senior Dominic Vicino (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.) was an honorable mention selection. Vicino fourth on the team with 28 goals, third with 22 assists and second with 28 steals.

A pair of Falcons were named to the WWPA all-freshman team. Garrett Fisk finished the season with 13 goals and 13 steals while Riley Thomas had 17 goals, 22 assists and 20 steals.  

Air Force, 14-14 overall, tied for second in the WWPA with a 4-2 conference record. Based on tiebreakers, the Falcons are the third-seed in the WWPA Tournament and will face sixth-seed California Baptist on Friday, Nov. 21, at 2 pm PT. The winner will advance to the semifinals on Saturday, Nov. 22. The winner of the WWPA Championship on Sunday, Nov. 22, receives an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.




2014 Western Water Polo Association Men’s Water Polo Honors

Player of the Year:                            Josh Stiling – UC San Diego

Newcomer of the Year:                   Cory Laidig – UC Davis


First-Team WWPA All-Conference

Eric Carnohan – California Baptist (UTL, Sr.)

Mark Davis – Santa Clara (DR, Sr.)​

Emanuel Di Stasio – LMU (ATT, Jr.)

Cameron Ravanbach – UC San Diego (GK, Sr.)

Chris Richardson – UC Davis (UTL, Sr.)

Robby Stiefel – Air Force (ATT, So.)

Josh Stiling – UC San Diego (ATT, Sr.)


Second-Team WWPA All-Conference

Evan Chang – Santa Clara (2M, Jr.)

Vuk Cvetkovic – LMU (CTR, Jr.)

David Higginson – UC San Diego (ATT, Sr.)

Sean Grab – UC Davis (UTL, Jr.)

Petar Jackovich – Air Force (CTR, Sr.)

Joseph Moorman – California Baptist (GK, So.)

Dillon Robinson – Fresno Pacific (GK, So.)

Daniel Seymour – Fresno Pacific (DR, Jr.)


Honorable Mention All-Conference

Brent Teraoka – California Baptist (ATT, So.)

Joe Dietrich – UC San Diego (2MD, Sr.)

Teddy Nicholson – UC Davis (CTR, Sr.)

Matt Michalko – UC San Diego (2M, Sr.)

Ian Roos – Fresno Pacific (CTR, Jr.)

Dominic Vicino – Air Force (UTL, Sr.)


WWPA All-Freshman Team

Spencer Creed – UC Davis (GK)

Richard Daly – Santa Clara (DR)

Garrett Fisk – Air Force (CTR)

Thomas Higginson – UC San Diego (UTL)

Cory Laidig – UC Davis (ATT)

Preston Shore – California Baptist (UTL)

Riley Thomas – Air Force (ATT)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago