Air Force's Season Ends with MWC Quarterfinal Loss to TCU

    Senior Taylor Soster played his final collegiate match Wednesday

    Senior Taylor Soster played his final collegiate match Wednesday

    April 27, 2011

    The Air Force men's tennis team wrapped up its 2010-11 campaign Wednesday with a 4-0 loss to 54th-ranked TCU in the quarterfinals of the 2011 Mountain West Conference Championships in Fort Collins, Colo. The Falcons finished the season with a 10-14 record.

    In doubles play the Horned Frogs came out swinging and never looked back. TCU began the match by claiming a victory at the No. 2 position, with Paul Chappell and Cameron Nash notching a speedy 8-1 win over Taylor Soster and Alex Grubbs. Moments later, the Horned Frog tandem of Daniel Sanchez and Zach Nichols secured an 8-4 victory over Alex Beaussart and Steven Young to capture the doubles point.

    TCU's Christopher Price claimed the first singles victory of the match after Soster had to retire due to a shoulder injury in the first set at No. 3 singles. Nichols then notched a straight-sets win over Andy Jackson (6-3, 6-1) at the second position to put TCU up 3-0 in the dual. Moments later, Slah Mbarek closed out the dual for the Horned Frogs, recording a 6-3, 6-1 victory over Grubbs at the No. 4 spot. The other three matches were halted at that time.

    "We needed to play our best tennis today and it didn't happen," said Air Force head coach Dan Oosterhous. "It's been a season of up and downs for our team and unfortunately we finished the season not playing our best. Our seniors did a great job this year we'll miss their leadership. Team captain Taylor Soster suffered a shoulder injury in singles and it was a difficult way to finish his last match as a Falcon. Alex Beaussart played very well and was fighting hard at 4-6 when the match was decided. Both seniors leave a great legacy and have lots to proud of in the Air Force tennis careers."



    #2 TCU 4, #7 Air Force 0
    Apr 27, 2011 at Fort Collins, Colo.
    Quarterfinals - MWC Championships

    1. #72 Emanuel Brighiu (TCU) vs. Lance Wilhelm (AFA) 6-4, 4-1, DNF
    2. Zach Nichols (TCU) def. Andy Jackson (AFA) 6-3, 6-1
    3. Christopher Price (TCU) def. Taylor Soster (AFA) 5-0, ret.
    4. Slah Mbarek (TCU) def. Alex Grubbs (AFA) 6-3, 6-1
    5. Soren Goritzka (TCU) vs. Steven Young (AFA) 6-4, DNF
    6. Daniel Sanchez (TCU) vs. Alex Beaussart (AFA) 6-4 , DNF
    Order of Finish: 3, 2, 4

    1. #48 Brighiu / Price (TCU) vs. Wilhelm / Jackson (AFA) 5-2, DNF
    2. Paul Chappell / Cameron Nash (TCU) def. Soster / Grubbs (AFA) 8-1
    3. Sanchez / Nichols (TCU) def. Beaussart / Young (AFA) 8-4
    Order of Finish: 2, 3

    Inside Men's Tennis