Falcon Complete Opening Day at NCAA Zone E Diving Regionals

March 11, 2010

AUSTIN, Texas - With a ninth-place finish at 3-meters, senior David Arlington (Eagle River, Alaska) led Air Force on day one of the 2010 NCAA Zone E Diving Regionals, being held at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center on the campus of the University of Texas.

Arlington posted a score of 303.95 in the preliminaries of the men's 3-meter event to move into the finals. After registering a mark of 292.55 in the finals competition, Arlington finished ninth overall with a combined score of 596.50. It marked the best-ever showing at the Zone E meet for Arlington, who placed 14th on the 3-meter board in 2009.

Teammate Kyle Van Valkenburg (Sr., Tucson, Ariz.), competing in his third zone meet, advanced to the finals of the 3-meter competition for the first time, notching a preliminary score of 293.00. With a mark of 296.60 in the finals, Van Valkenburg finished 13th on the 3-meter board with a score of 589.60.

BYU's Brandon Watson captured the title in the men's 3-meter springboard, while USC's Victoria Ishimatsu won the women's 1-meter event.

Watson, the Mountain West Conference Diver of the Year, registered a score of 813.05 to take first place. Blaha Constantin of Arizona State placed second on the men's 3-meter board with a mark of 806.00, while Arizona's Ben Grado, the runner-up at 3-meters last season, finished third with a score of 781.30.

Ishimatsu, the runner-up on the women's 1-meter board in 2009, earned the title this year with a mark of 622.05. Teammate Ariel Rittenhouse took second place on the event with a score of 604.30, while BYU's Tawni Jones placed third at 597.85.

Action at the Zone E meet continues Friday with the men's 1-meter springboard and the women's 3-meter event.

Men's 3M Results Get Acrobat Reader



Women's 1M Results Get Acrobat Reader
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago