Stan Curnow
    Stan  Curnow

    Head Diving Coach

    Alma Mater:
    BYU, 1977


    Swimming and Diving teams set to open the season

    Men's swimming and diving teams, and women's diving team, opens the season Oct. 3-4; Women's swimming team opens season, Oct. 10-11


    Falcon Swimming & Diving Coaches Talk About Chamionships

    Rob Clayton, Casey Converse and Stan Curnow talk about their teams in Bird Bites Segments.


    Air Force Men's Swimming & Diving 2011-12 Season Outlook

    Falcons open season Oct. 7 in Grand Junction.

    Stan Curnow begins his 21st year with the Falcons as head diving coach, the longest tenure in Academy history for a diving coach.

    During his first 20 years, Curnow has continued Air Force's proud tradition in diving. Three women have earned first-team All-American honors at the Division II level while the men annually place among the conference's elite. A recent four-year stretch saw the Falcons win the men's platform dive at the MWC Championships (Brady Lindberg in 2006 and 2007, Kyle Van Valkenburg in 2008 and 2009).

    Outside of the pool, Curnow has been an asset to the Academy as well, being named the 1998 athletic department Instructor of the Year.

    Curnow came to Air Force from BYU, where he coached for 14 years. His record there was impeccable, including 26 conference titles, 17 All-Americans and two NCAA Division I champions.

    A native of Denver, Colo., Curnow was named a high school All-American in diving and was a champion performer on the trampoline. He attended BYU and graduated in 1977 with a degree in physical education. He completed his master's degree in the same field in 1978. As a competitor at BYU, Curnow was the Western Athletic Conference diving champion three out of four years and earned All-American honors in 1972 and 1974. He was also a finalist in the 1972 Olympic Trials.

    Curnow was named the Mountain West Conference's diving coach of the year in 2001, 2002 and 2006, and was formerly a member of the NCAA Diving Rules Committee.

    Inside Men's Swimming