Caleb Downey and Brian Klazura Earn All-WAC Honors
Senior co-captain Caleb Downey

Nov. 12, 2013

Air Force senior co-captains Caleb Downey and Brian Klazura were selected to the 2013 All-WAC Men’s Soccer Teams on Tuesday. Downey, a defender from Evergreen, Colo., was selected to the first team, while Klazura, a forward from Rockford, Ill., was a second-team pick. This is the third all-conference honor for Downey, who was a second-team all-MPSF selection in 2011 and an honorable mention last season. This is Klazura’s first career all-conference selection.

Downey, who has started all 80 games in his career at Air Force, led the team with 1,728 minutes played this season. He scored one goal, a game-tying tally in AFA’s 3-2 victory over Houston Baptist, and added an assist in 2013. Klazura, meanwhile, has missed just one game in his career and also had a goal and an assist this season.

The award winners were selected by the league’s eight head coaches. WAC regular-season champion Seattle University led all teams with five players selected to the all-WAC team, including three on the first team and two on the second team.

Seattle senior forward Miguel Gonzalez was named the WAC's Offensive Player of the Year, while Bakersfield senior defender Scott Luedtke received Defensive Player of the Year honors. Seattle defender Kyle Bjornethun was named the league’s Freshman of the Year and Seattle’s Pete Fewing was named Coach of the Year.

First Team All-WAC
F-Alberto Sanchez Garcia, So., Grand Canyon
F-Jordan Rideout, Jr., Kansas City
F-Sal Bernal, Jr., UNLV
F-Miguel Gonzalez, Sr., Seattle U
MF-Christian Duarte, So., Bakersfield
MF-Kristopher Tyrpak, Sr., Houston Baptist
MF-Ian Hines-Ike, So., Seattle U
D-Caleb Downey, Sr., Air Force
D-Scott Luedtke, Sr., Bakersfield
D-Walter Kromholz, Sr., Houston Baptist
GK-Jake Feener, Sr., Seattle U



Second Team All-WAC
F-Brian Klazura, Sr., Air Force
F-Tobenna Uzo, Fr., Houston Baptist
F-Rory Knibbs, Fr., San Jose State
MF-Joe Masumiya, Jr., Bakersfield
MF-Gustavo Alvarado, Jr., Houston Baptist
MF-Tato Chiaparro, Jr., Kansas City
MF-Rodrigo Fuentes, So., UNLV
D-Kyle Mellies, Jr., UNLV
D-Kyle Bjornethun, Fr., Seattle U
D-Bobby Segal, Sr., Seattle U
GK-Ryan Harding, Jr., UNLV

Offensive Player of the Year: Miguel Gonzalez, Sr., F, Seattle U
Defensive Player of the Year: Scott Luedtke, Sr., D, Bakersfield
Freshman of the Year: Kyle Bjornethun, D, Seattle U
Coach of the Year: Pete Fewing, Seattle U

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago