Doug Hill Wins WAC Coach of the Year
Nov. 8, 2017

LAS VEGAS – The Western Athletic Conference has announced its All-WAC men’s soccer teams and major awards as selected by the league’s 11 head coaches. UNLV’s Danny Musovski was named WAC Offensive Player of the Year while Seattle U’s Nathan Aune was named WAC Defensive Player of the Year. Grand Canyon forward Josh Drack was named WAC Freshman of the Year and Air Force head coach Doug Hill was named WAC Coach of the Year.

Hill, a 1983 graduate of the United States Air Force Academy, led the Falcons to their first WAC regular season title in 2017. Hill’s Falcons recorded a program-best 11-1 home record with an undefeated mark in conference action. Now in his 11th season leading the Falcons, he holds a record of 92-95-23 including 24-16-10 in WAC play. In 2012, he led Air Force to a Mountain Pacific Sports Federation title and a trip to the NCAA tournament. After graduating from the Academy, Hill served the U.S. Air Force in multiple capacities, logging over 2,800 flying hours. He served as the Director, Wing Weapons and Tactics for the 62nd Airlift Wing and Operations Officer for the 4th Airlift Squadron, a C-141 unit. Hill retired from the Air Force in April 2006 with the rank of lieutenant colonel; he has been coaching at his alma mater ever since.

Musovski, a senior forward from Henderson, Nev., led the WAC with nine goals and 22 points in conference play. He also led the WAC with 14 goals and 34 points overall. He set a new WAC record for points in a game with nine after scoring four goals with an assist against Oral Roberts. He also tied the WAC record for points in a conference match with seven following a hat trick and an assist against San José State.

Aune, a junior defender from Arlington, Wash., anchored a Redhawk defense that allowed just nine goals in WAC play and produced four shutouts. He played in nine WAC games for Seattle U and was on the field for the whole game in six of those contests, including overtime matches against UT Rio Grande Valley, Air Force and Grand Canyon.

Drack, a forward from Chandler, Ariz.,earned starts in five of nine WAC matches that he appeared in. He finished conference play with two goals and three assists. His best match was in an overtime thriller with Utah Valley, scoring once and assisting on the game-winner in the 98th minute. He also scored once and assisted on two more in a non-conference match against UC Riverside.

Offensive Player of the Year: Danny Musovski, Sr., F, UNLV
Defensive Player of the Year: Nathan Aune, Jr., D, Seattle U
Freshman of the Year: Josh Drack, F, Grand Canyon
Coach of the Year: Doug Hill, Air Force

2017 First Team All-WAC
Niki Jackson, Sr., F, Grand Canyon
Eric McWoods, Sr., F, Kansas City
Danny Musovski, Sr., F, UNLV
Tucker Bone, Jr., MF, Air Force
Timo Mehlich, So., MF, UNLV
Alex Roldan, Sr., MF, Seattle U
Nathan Aune, Jr., D, Seattle U
Jamie Carey-Morrell, Sr., D, CSU Bakersfield
Oscar Chacon, Sr., D, Air Force
Adam Musovski, Jr., D, UNLV
John Wendt, Sr, GK, Air Force

2017 Second Team All-WAC
Klint Parker, Jr., F, Air Force
Karson Payton, Sr., F, Utah Valley
Medo Youssef, Sr., F, Seattle U
Kevin Partida, Sr., MF, UNLV
Trey Pujats, Sr., MF, Air Force
Sergio Rivas, Jr., MF, Seattle U
Paul Hoffmeister, Sr., MF, Utah Valley
Anthony Ayala, Jr., D, Seattle U
James Sims, Jr., D, Air Force
Andy Rios, Jr., D, San José State
Detre Bell, Fr., GK, CSU Bakersfield

Honorable Mention All-WAC
Air Force: Danny Han, Luis Martinez
CSU Bakersfield: Jeremie Charron, Sebastian Mentel
Grand Canyon: Josh Drack, Aidan McGlothan, Jeremy Pollard, Amer Sasivarevic, Khadim Seye
Houston Baptist: Devon Grant
UIW: Marjan Gamsjager
Kansas City: Filippo Errico
UNLV: Marco Gonzalez
San José State: Jeffery Dukes, Jeremy Romero
Seattle U: Josh Adachi, Ozzie Ramos
UT Rio Grande Valley: Michael Faber, Ilias Kosmidis, Angel Lopez, Dimitris Strantzalis
Utah Valley: Alec Felix

2017 All-WAC Freshman Team
Max Allen, MF, San José State
Habib Barry, F, Seattle U
Detre Bell, GK, CSU Bakersfield
Josh Drack, F, Grand Canyon
Marco Gonzalez, MF, UNLV
Omar Lemus, D, San José State
Musa Morris-Demos, MF, Grand Canyon
Jesus Partida, MF, UNLV
Jeremy Pollard, GK, Grand Canyon
Ivory Randle IV, D, Seattle U
Ricardo Soza, MF, CSU Bakersfield

- WAC -



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago