Falcon Lacrosse Adds 23 to SoCon Honor Roll
July 10, 2018

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – The Southern Conference released its academic honor roll for the 2017-18 academic year on Tuesday, with a league-record 2,207 student-athletes from the 10 member institutions and 16 associate members earning the distinction.

The Falcons added a program-best 23 players to the honor roll list; one more than last season and nine more than the team’s inaugural season in the SoCon (2016). Tim Baker, Cameron Carter, Kevin Cox, Caleb Ferguson, Jack Flynn, Nick Forrest, Blake Gillund, Chuck Goldstein, Grant Gould, Benjamin Hofmann, Braden Host, Nick Hruby, Brandon Jones, Sheamus Larkin, Trey Lervick, Daniel Pagano, Griffin Peene, Christian Pung, Josh Radjenovich, Roman Rohrbach, Doc Szlachetka, Andrew Tien and Chris Walsch were the 23 Air Force honor roll recipients this season.

The academic honor roll originated in 1988-89, when SoCon athletic directors established the award as a way to recognize the league's outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in varsity sports and posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher, were eligible the entire academic year and were members of the final squad lists.

Of the 2,207 student-athletes on the list, 525 earned the Commissioner’s Medal, awarded to student-athletes who attain a GPA of 3.8 or higher throughout the year. This year’s total is the most since that standard rose from 3.5 beginning in 2015-16.

A league-record 178 student-athletes boasted perfect 4.0 GPAs in 2017-18, marking the fourth straight season that a new mark has been established. Each of the league’s full members had at least seven student-athletes with 4.0 GPAs, led by Mercer with 33, Chattanooga with 26 and Western Carolina with 23.

Air Force and other associate members accounted for 276 selections. Wrestling added 72, men’s lacrosse added 131, women’s lacrosse posted 51 and rifle added 22.




Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago