Falcon Lacrosse Adds Five to SoCon All-Academic Team
July 9, 2018

2018 SoCon Spring All-Academic Get Acrobat Reader

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Four hundred and eighty-six student-athletes earned a league-record 570 spots on the Spring 2018 Academic All-Southern Conference Team, the league office announced Monday.

Five Falcon lacrosse players, Cameron Carter, Nick Hruby, Roman Rohrbach, Doc Szlachetka and Andrew Tien earned spots on the list. The Academic All-Conference selection marks the third selection in as many years in the conference for Tien and second time for Hruby and Carter.

The 570 selections are the most for any academic all-conference team in the history of the SoCon, which began selecting teams in the winter of 2002-03 and selected fall, winter and spring teams through 2014-15. Beginning in 2015-16, the winter and spring teams were combined, with those student-athletes honored after the spring semester. The previous record was 479 selections in spring of 2017.

To be eligible for the academic all-conference team, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average at the conclusion of the spring semester and were required to compete in at least one-half of their teams’ competitions. In addition, the student-athletes must have successfully completed at least three semesters at their institutions, making true freshmen and first-year transfers ineligible for inclusion.

Eight of the SoCon’s 10 full-time institutions had at least 46 honorees this year, representing the sports of men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s indoor track and field, rifle, wrestling, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s lacrosse, men’s and women’s outdoor track and field, men’s and women’s tennis, baseball and softball.

Associate members for men’s and women’s lacrosse, rifle and wrestling were also eligible for the award, accounting for 86 of the selections.

Thirty-two student-athletes combined for 38 of the perfect 4.0 cumulative GPAs. That total is also a league record, surpassing the 22 from the spring team in 2016.




Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago