Five Falcons Named to Academic-All SoCon Team
June 26, 2017

2017 Academic All-SoCon List Get Acrobat Reader

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Five Falcon lacrosse players, Cameron Carter, Nick Hruby, Sheamus Larkin, Joe Matarazzo and Andrew Tien have been named to the Spring 2017 Academic All-Southern Conference Team. Four hundred and five student-athletes accounted for 480 spots on the, the league office announced Monday. The Spring 2017 All-Conference selection marks the second selection in as many years in the conference for Larkin, Matarazzo and Tien.

Each of the SoCon’s 10 full-time institutions had at least 30 honorees, representing the sports of men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s indoor track and field, rifle, wrestling, men’s and women’s golf, men’s lacrosse, men’s and women’s outdoor track and field, men’s and women’s tennis, baseball and softball. Associate members for men’s lacrosse, rifle and wrestling were also eligible for the award, accounting for 50 of the selections.

To be eligible for the academic all-conference team, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average at the conclusion of the spring semester and were required to compete in at least one-half of their teams’ competitions. In addition, the student-athletes must have successfully completed at least three semesters at their institutions, making true freshmen and first-year transfers ineligible for inclusion.

Seventy-five student-athletes earned double mention, with 74 earning the honor for both indoor and outdoor track and field and ETSU’s Malloree Schurr earning inclusion in both women’s basketball and softball.

Sixteen student-athletes combined for 19 of the perfect 4.0 cumulative GPAs, including The Citadel’s Charles Braddock (men’s outdoor track and field); ETSU’s Macy Carrier (women’s indoor and outdoor track and field); Mercer’s Howard Joe (baseball) and Amanda Thompson (women’s basketball); UNCG’s Brandon King (men’s indoor and outdoor track and field) and Lexi Kershaw (women’s golf); Samford’s Lydia McGee (women’s basketball), Haley Harrington (women’s golf) and Hannah Belcher (women’s indoor and outdoor track and field); SIUE’s Clayton Bass (wrestling); Chattanooga’s Megan Woods (women’s golf) and Sydney Patton (women’s tennis); VMI’s Josh Winder (baseball) and John O’Donnell (men’s lacrosse); Western Carolina’s Alyssa Morahan (women’s golf); and Wofford’s Curran Carver (women’s tennis).

The league’s 10 women’s outdoor track and field programs led the way with 59 academic all-conference selections, while the eight men’s lacrosse programs and nine baseball programs each produced 50 selections.

Samford led all schools with 67 spots on the academic all-conference team, followed by Mercer with 61 selections and ETSU with 50.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago