Four Falcons Earn ECAC Honors
Freshman Keith Dreyer

April 30, 2012

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - Four Air Force lacrosse players were honored by the ECAC Lacrosse League in their annual awards, as voted on by the league's coaches and announced on Monday afternoon. Senior captain Dayton Gilbreath was named a first-team all-conference honoree, while sophomore Bryan Price and freshmen Keith Dreyer and Davis Gunter were named to the league's inaugural all-rookie team.

Gilbreath, a native of Bainbridge Island, Wash., becomes just the third four-time all-conference honoree in program history, after earning All-GWLL honors as a freshman and All-ECAC accolades in the past three seasons. The native of Bainbridge Island, Wash., has been a four-year starter for the Falcons at close defense, responsible for shutting down his opponents' top scorer. This season, he registered a career-best 32 ground balls, while also registering eight caused turnovers on the year.

Loyola and Fairfield each led the way with three first-team All-ECAC picks and five overall selections, while Denver and Ohio State each had two first-team selections and four overall honorees. Air Force landed the final first-team honoree, while Hobart had two players earn second-team honors.

Meanwhile, the ECAC announced its first-ever all-rookie team, comprised of 11 players. Air Force and Denver led the conference with three all-rookie picks each, followed by Fairfield with two. Bellarmine, Hobart and Ohio State rounded out the group with one selection each.

Earning a spot on the all-rookie team as an attackman was Dreyer, who led the Falcons in total points scored on the season with 46, including a team-best 27 assists. A native of Malvern, Pa., Dreyer's 46 points were the most for a Falcon in a single season since 1998. At the end of the regular season, he led all freshmen in the nation in assists (2.08) and points (3.54) per contest, while also ranking first and fourth among all conference players in those two categories, respectively.



Gunter, who, along with Dreyer, started every game for the Falcons in his freshman campaign, earned a spot on the all-rookie team as a defenseman. A native of Littleton, Colo., Gunter registered 21 ground balls on the season, while also finishing second on the team with 14 caused turnovers.

Meanwhile, Price was named to the all-rookie team as a specialist. The sophomore midfielder from Denver, Colo., put together impressive numbers at the face-off X in his first season as a member of the Falcons' squad, finishing third on the team with 40 ground balls and posting a face-off win percentage of .511 for the year.

In addition to announcing the all-league teams, the ECAC's individual awards were released Monday as well. Loyola's Charley Toomey garnered Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Greyhounds to a perfect 6-0 league record and 12-1 overall mark. Ohio State's Logan Schuss was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while Loyola's Scott Ratliff and Fairfield's Charlie Cipriano were tabbed the Defensive Player of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year, respectively. A pair of Denver players captured the final two individual awards, with Chase Carraro earning Specialist of the Year honors, while Wes Berg was named the Rookie of the Year.

Offensive Player of the Year

Logan Schuss, Jr., Ohio State

Defensive Player of the Year
Scott Ratliff, Jr., Loyola

Goalkeeper of the Year
Charlie Cipriano, Fairfield, Sr.

Specialist of the Year
Chase Carraro, Denver, Jr.

Rookie of the Year
Wes Berg, Denver, Fr. (M)

Coach of the Year
Charley Toomey, Loyola

2012 All-ECAC First Team
A - Logan Schuss, Ohio State, Jr.
A - Mike Sawyer, Loyola, Jr.
A - Mark Matthews, Denver, Sr.
M - Brent Adams, Fairfield, Sr.
M - Davis Butts, Loyola, Jr.
M - Sam Snow, Fairfield, Jr.
D - Scott Ratliff, Loyola, Jr.
D - Dayton Gilbreath, Air Force, Sr.
D - Joe Bonanni, Ohio State, Sr.
Sp. - Chase Carraro, Denver (F/O), Jr.
GK - Charlie Cipriano, Fairfield, Sr.

2012 All-ECAC Second Team
A - Eric Lusby, Loyola, Sr.
A - Alex Love, Hobart, So.
A - John Snellman, Fairfield, Sr.
M - Chase Carraro, Denver, Jr.
M - Jeremy Noble, Denver, So.
M - Cameron Flint, Denver, Jr.
D - Keenan Ochwat, Ohio State, Sr.
D - Joe Fletcher, Loyola, So.
D - Drew Palmer, Fairfield, Sr.
Sp. - Bobby Dattilo, Hobart (F/O), Sr.
GK - Greg Dutton, Ohio State, So.

2012 ECAC All-Rookie Team
A - Keith Dreyer, Air Force, Fr.
A - Tristan Sperry, Fairfield, Fr.
A - Andrew Federico, Fairfield, Fr.
M - Wes Berg, Denver, Fr.
M - Jesse King, Ohio State, Fr.
M - Taylor Vanderbeek, Hobart, Fr.
D - Carson Cannon, Denver, Fr.
D - Davis Gunter, Air Force, Fr.
D - Bobby Schmitt, Bellarmine, Fr.
Sp. - Bryan Price, Air Force (F/O), So.
GK - Ryan LaPlante, Denver, Fr.

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago