Chris Walsch Announced to the 2017 Tewaaraton Watch List
Feb. 28, 2017

NEW YORK, February 28 – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2017 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s watch lists. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2017 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. Air Force junior attackman Chris Walsch is the first Falcon in program history to earn a spot on the watch list.

Among the 2017 watch list returnees are former finalists Connor Cannizzaro (Denver), Ben Reeves (Yale) and 2016 Tewaaraton winner Dylan Molloy (Brown) on the men’s side.

“It’s going to be another exciting year, our 17th for the Tewaaraton Award,” said Jeff Harvey,chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “On one hand we have our 2016 men’s winner in Dylan Molloy returning, and on the women’s side, Taylor Cummings has graduated after winning a record three straight. We can’t wait to see who emerges this year and gets invited to Washington, D.C. in early June.”

The Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour, annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

The 50 men’s and 50 women’s watch list candidates, with school, year and position noted:

Men’s Watch List:
Jack Adams, Towson - Sr., Short Stick Defensive Midfield
Nick Aponte, Penn State - Sr., Attack
Trevor Baptiste, Denver - Jr., Faceoff
Jack Bruckner, Duke - Sr., Attack
Christian Burgdorf, Denver - Sr., Defense
Colin Burke, Fairfield - Soph., Attack
Josh Byrne, Hofstra - Sr., Attack
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver - Sr., Attack
Morgan Cheek, Harvard - Jr., Attack
Isaiah Davis Allen, Maryland - Sr., Midfield
Cal Dearth, Boston - Sr., Midfield
Shane Doss, Notre Dame - Sr., Goalie
Ryan Drenner, Towson - Sr., Attack
Chris Fennell, Navy - Sr., Defense
Connor Fields, Albany - Jr., Attack
Nick Fields, Johns Hopkins - Sr., Defense
Jake Froccaro, Villanova - Sr., Midfield
Justin Guterding, Duke - Jr., Attack
Colin Heacock, Maryland - Sr., Attack
Jules Heningburg, Rutgers - Jr., Attack
Cole Johnson, Army West Point - Sr., Attack
Connor Keating, Penn - Jr., Long Stick Midfield
Stephen Kelly, North Carolina - Sr., Faceoff
Larken Kemp, Brown - Sr., Long Stick Midfield
Ian King, Michigan - Sr., Attack
Nick Mariano, Syracuse - Sr., Midfield
Simon Mathias, Penn - Soph., Attack
Ryan McNamara, Marquette - Sr., Attack
Cam Milligan, Vermont - Sr., Attack
Dylan Molloy, Brown - Sr., Attack
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame - Sr., Midfield
Austin Pifani, North Carolina - Sr., Defense
Benny Pugh, Richmond - Sr., Goalie
Matt Rambo, Maryland - Sr., Attack
Ryland Rees, Stony Brook - Soph., Long Stick Midfield
Ben Reeves, Yale - Jr., Attack
Kevin Reisman, Limestone - Sr., Midfield
Sergio Salcido, Syracuse - Sr., Midfield
Will Sands, Bucknell - Jr., Attack
Eric Scott, Yale - Sr., Midfield
John Sexton, Notre Dame - Jr., Long Stick Midfield
Brian Sherlock, Loyola - Sr., Midfield
Patrick Spencer, Loyola - Soph., Attack
Shack Stanwick, Johns Hopkins - Jr., Attack
Joel Tinney, Johns Hopkins - Jr., Midfield
Alec Tulett, Brown - Sr., Defense
Chris Walsch, Air Force - Jr., Attack
Zed Williams, Virginia - Sr., Attack
Ben Williams, Syracuse - Sr., Faceoff
Mikey Wynne, Notre Dame - Jr., Attack

Women’s Watch List:
Sam Apuzzo , Boston College - Soph., Attack
Kasey Behr, Virginia - Jr., Midfield
Maggie Bill, North Carolina - Jr., Midfield
Taylor Bresnahan, Florida - Sr., Defense
Sammi Burgess, Florida - Sr., Attack
Madison Carter, Penn State - Soph., Attack
Alex Condon, Penn - Jr., Midfield
Maddie Crutchfield, Duke - Jr., Midfield
Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton - Sr., Goalie
Riley Donahue, Syracuse - Jr., Attack
Christina Esposito, Northwestern - Redshirt Sr., Attack
Erica Evans, Canisius College - Jr., Midfield
Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida - Sr., Defense
Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame - Sr., Attack
Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland - Sr., Defense
Kyra Harney, Duke - Jr., Attack
Molly Hendrick, North Carolina - Sr., Attack
Olivia Hompe, Princeton - Sr., Attack
Gussie Johns, USC - Jr., Goalie
Kenzie Kent, Boston College - Jr., Attack
Emily Kenul, Johns Hopkins - Jr., Attack
Darby Kiernan, Colorado - Jr., Attack
Selena Lasota, Northwestern - Jr., Attack
Steph Lazo, Penn State - Sr., Attack
Nicole Levy, Syracuse - Soph., Attack
Sarah Martin, Albany - Sr., Midfield
Bailey Mathis, Loyola - Sr., Defense
Marie McCool, North Carolina - Jr., Midfield
Michaela Michael, USC - Sr., Attack
Kaitlyn Montalbano, Towson - Jr., Midfield
Courtney Murphy, Stony Brook - Sr., Attack
Hannah Murphy, Massachusetts - Sr., Midfield
Kelsey Murray, Stanford - Redshirt Jr., Attack
Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook - Jr., Attack
Casey Pearsall, Notre Dame - Sr., Midfield
Shayna Pirreca, Florida - Jr., Attack
Carly Reed, North Carolina - Sr., Midfield
Lindsey Ronbeck, Florida - Soph., Attack
Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins - Sr., Midfield
Maura Schwitter, Duke - Sr., Defense
Catie Smith, Cornell - Sr., Defense
Abby Smucker, Penn State - Sr., Midfield
Paige Soenksen, Colorado - Sr., Goalie
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland - Sr., Midfield
Lydia Sutton, USC - Jr., Defense
Sammy Jo Tracy, North Carolina - Sr., Attack
Dorrien Van Dyke, Stony Brook - Sr., Midfield
Haley Warden, James Madison - Jr., Midfield
Caylee Waters, North Carolina - Sr., Goalie
Megan Whittle, Maryland - Jr., Attack

Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 16 and April 6. On April 27, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 11 and invited to the ceremony. The 17th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on June 1.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

About Under Armour, Inc.
Under Armour (NYSE: UA), the originator of performance footwear, apparel and equipment, revolutionized how athletes across the world dress. Designed to make all athletes better, the brand’s innovative products are sold worldwide to athletes at all levels. The Under Armour Connected Fitness™ platform powers the world’s largest digital health and fitness community through a suite of applications: UA Record, MapMyFitness, Endomondo and MyFitnessPal. The Under Armour global headquarters is in Baltimore, Md. For further information, please visit the company’s website at

# # #



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago