Dayton Gilbreath Named to Preseason All-ECAC Team
Senior Dayton Gilbreath

Feb. 7, 2012

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - For the third-straight year, Air Force lacrosse player Dayton Gilbreath has been named to the Preseason All-ECAC team, announced by the league on Tuesday afternoon.

Gilbreath, a senior team captain from Bainbridge Island, Wash., is a four-year starter for the Falcons on defense, and has earned all-conference honors in each of his first three seasons. Air Force's top cover man, Gilbreath finished the 2011 season with 30 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers.

Four of the 10 players named to the preseason All-ECAC team hail from Denver, while Ohio State and Fairfield earned two selections each. Air Force and Loyola round out the selections, each receiving one honoree.

Denver also swept the top individual awards, as senior Mark Matthews was chosen as the preseason Offensive Player of the Year, sophomore goalkeeper Jamie Faus was tabbed the preseason Defensive Player of the Year, and freshman Wes Berg was named the preseason Rookie of the Year.

Also released Tuesday by the league were the preseason conference rankings, as voted on by the league's head coaches. Fifth-ranked Denver, the two-time defending league champion and national semifinalist in 2011, was chosen to capture the ECAC title for a third season, receiving seven first place votes. Loyola was chosen to finish second in the coaches' poll, followed by Fairfield ranked third in the team projections, followed by Ohio State, Air Force, Hobart and Bellarmine.

Air Force opens the 2012 season on Feb. 19, when it travels to Syracuse, N.Y., to face Rutgers in a neutral-site contest in the Carrier Dome.

2012 Preseason All-ECAC Team
A Mark Matthews, Sr., Denver
A Logan Schuss, Jr., Ohio State
A Mike Sawyer, Jr., Loyola
M Cam Flint, Jr., Denver
M Chase Carraro, Jr., Denver
M Brent Adams, Sr., Fairfield
D Matt Kawamoto, Sr., Ohio State
D Drew Palmer, Sr., Fairfield
D Dayton Gilbreath, Sr., Air Force
Sp. Chase Carraro, Jr., Denver
G Jamie Faus, So., Denver



Offensive Player of the Year
Mark Matthews, Jr., Denver

Defensive Player of the Year
Jamie Faus, So., Denver

Rookie of the Year
Wes Berg, Fr., Denver

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago