Fred Acee
    Fred  Acee

    Volunteer Coach

    Alma Mater:
    Cortland State, 1963

    In 2010, legendary coach Fred Acee rejoined the Air Force lacrosse team as a volunteer assistant. Acee, who retired at the end of the 2009 season, has more than 40 years of coaching experience, including 11 seasons at the helm of the Falcons' program.

    "We are excited about Coach Acee's return to the sidelines," said Seremet. "He has been a great mentor to me and he will continue to be an outstanding resource to the Academy and this program. His years of experience and extensive knowledge of the game will be invaluable as we transition into our new conference this season."

    Acee, who holds a career record of 350-223-1, was Air Force's head coach from 1998-2008 before serving in an administrative capacity during his final year with the Falcons. Among the highlights during his tenure with the Falcons are an upset victory over ninth-ranked conference foe Notre Dame in 2006 and a historic win against defending national champion Virginia to open the 2004 season. The victory over the Cavaliers marked the first time the Falcons had knocked off a top-ranked team.

    Prior to his arrival at the Academy, Acee, a 1963 graduate of Cortland State, spent 30 years as the lacrosse coach at SUNY-Farmingdale, leading the Rams to three NJCAA championships and 25 Final Fours. Acee was also named the NJCAA Coach of the Year on four occasions (1977, 1981, 1987 and 1997).

    Over the past four-plus decades, Acee has racked up numerous accolades, including inductions into the Long Island Metropolitan Hall of Fame, the Junior College Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the Cortland C-Club Hall of Fame. He served as the defensive coach for the U.S. lacrosse team which won a world championship in 1994 and was also the head coach for the South team at the North/South All-Star Game in 2002. Acee was honored as the Howdy Myers Man of the Year by the USILA in 2001, and in 2007, he was recipient of both the USILA's Frenchy Julien Service Award and the IMLCA Creators Award.

    Inside Men's Lacrosse