Abood a candidate for Senior CLASS Award
Nov. 1, 2017

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. – Air Force senior Dylan Abood has been selected as a candidate for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award for hockey. Abood is one of 20 men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice.


Abood carries a 3.85 overall grade point average while majoring in electrical engineering. The Centennial, Colo., native has been on the Dean’s List every semester. He is a two-time, first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District selection and has been named academic all-conference three times. This past summer, he was selected for the Cadet Summer Research Program with MIT Lincoln under Group 73 (Energy Systems), building, developing and testing a portable solar power system to assist with disaster relief operations.


A flight commander in his squadron, he has volunteered numerous hours in the community, including Break Time, assisting families that have special needs children,  the Marion House Soup Kitchen, assisting with the Colorado Springs homeless population and local fire mitigation units, assisting with the clean-up of wild fires in Colorado.




On the ice, Abood is a two-time team captain. He has played in 95 career games and has recorded 22 career points (4-18-22). Earlier this season, he scored the game-winner against Arizona State, the second game-winner of his career. Abood is a +26 for his career. He currently ranks fourth in the conference with 13 blocked shots. All stats are as of Nov. 1, 2017.


To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.


Abood is joined as  a candidate by : Louie Belpedio (Miami), Michael Bitzer (Bemidji State), Tim Davison (Wisconsin), Andrew Dorantes (Ferris State), Jake Evans (Notre Dame), Brady Ferguson (Robert Morris), Carson Gatt (Michigan State), Karson Kuhlman (Minnesota Duluth), Sam Lafferty (Brown) Alfred Larsson (Merrimack), Merrick Madsen (Harvard), Mitch McLain (Bowling Green), Brady Norrish (RIT), Judd Peterson (St. Cloud State), Tyler Pham (Army West Point), Sam Piazza (Michigan), Austin Poganski (North Dakota), Ryan Schmelzer (Canisius) and Jared Wilson (Rensselaer).

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.


The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.


The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2018 Frozen Four in April.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago