Ten Falcons earn academic all-conference honors

July 6, 2010

USAFA, Colo. - Ten Air Force hockey players were named to the 2010 Atlantic Hockey Association all-academic team, as announced by the AHA league office. The 10 selections tie as the second most in school history. AFA had 10 cadet-athletes on the team last season as well. The 10 selections tie as the most since 11 Falcons earned all-academic honors in the College Hockey America conference in 2005-06. A total of 140 student-athletes earned academic all-AHA honors, a new league record.

The 10 Falcons honored on the team include freshman goalie David Bosner, sophomore goalie Stephen Caple, senior forward Matt Fairchild, senior defenseman Brandon Johnson, junior forward Jacques Lamoureux, senior forward Brett Nylander, sophomore defenseman Scott Mathis, senior goalie Andrew Volkening, sophomore forward Paul Weisgarber and sophomore defenseman Mark Williams.

To qualify for the AHA all-academic team, an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average or higher in all of the academic periods during which his team was actively competing.




Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago