Air Force's Tim Kirby named INCH All-American

April 16, 2012

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. - Air Force senior defenseman Tim Kirby was named to the All-America third-team, as selected by Inside College Hockey editors and staff, with input from media and coaches from around the country. Kirby was also named to the AHCA/CCM Hockey All-America East second team (coaches) and was a second-team All-American.

Kirby was the Atlantic Hockey Association Player of the Year, Defenseman of the Year and a first-team all-league and all-tournament team selection this season. He is tied for third in the nation in goals by a defenseman with 12 and is 19th in the nation in points by a defenseman with 28 (0.72 per game) (12-16-28). He was Air Force's top scoring defenseman and third overall on the team. The Austin, Minn., native scored in 22 of the 39 games, tied as the most on the team. Twelve of his 16 assists this season were first assists. Kirby led Atlantic Hockey in points by a defenseman in all games (0.72 per game). He played in every game in his career, breaking the Air Force Academy record with 155 consecutive games played. He ranks ninth in school history for points by a defenseman (26-62-88). His 26 career goals are the fifth most in school history among defensemen.

Kirby becomes the fourth player in school history, and the fourth in the last six years, to earn All-America honors. He joins Eric Ehn (2007), Greg Flynn (2009) and Jacques Lamoureux (2009) as All-Americans.

The 2011-12 INCH All-America first team consists of Shawn Hunwick (Michigan, Sr., G), Brian Dumoulin (Boston College, Jr., D), Torey Krug (Michigan State, Jr., D), Spencer Abbott (Maine, Sr., F), Jack Connolly (Minnesota-Duluth, Sr., F) and Austin Smith (Colgate, Sr., F). The second-team is Troy Grosenick (Union, So., G), Danny Biega (Harvard, Jr., D), Justin Schultz (Wisconsin, Jr., D), Alex Killorn (Harvard, Sr., F), Jaden Schwartz (Colorado College, So., F), Reilly Smith (Miami, Jr., F). The third-team is Taylor Nelson (Ferris State, Sr., G), Chad Billins (Ferris State, Sr., D), Tim Kirby (Air Force, Sr., D), Nick Bjugstad (Minnesota, So., F), Brock Nelson (North Dakota, So., F), Jeremy Welsh (Union, Jr., F). --30--



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago