Falcons conclude season with 21-11-7 record

April 13, 2012

Weekly Release Get Acrobat Reader

In Closing Air Force finished the 2011-12 season with a 21-11-7 overall record. The Falcons won the Atlantic Hockey Association championship for the fifth time in six seasons and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth time in school history The season ended with a 2-0 loss to No. 1 Boston College, in the NCAA Northeast Regional in Worcester, Mass., March 24. u Boston College, the eventual national champions, went on to beat Minnesota-Duluth (4-0), in the regional final. The Eagles then beat Minnesota (6-1) in the national semifinal and beat Ferris State (4-1) to win the national title.

A Quick Look Back In six seasons in Atlantic Hockey, Air Force has won seven championships with five tournament titles (2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012) and two regular season titles (2009 and 2012). Air Force is one of just seven schools in the nation to compete in the NCAA Tournament five of the last six years, joining Boston College, Denver, Miami, Michigan, New Hampshire and North Dakota. The senior class has won five league championships more than any other class (two regular-season and three tournament). The class has competed in three NCAA Tournaments. The seniors combined for 85 wins (28 as freshmen, 16 as sophomores, 20 as juniors and 21 as seniors), tying the school record set by the class of 2011. Entering the NCAA Tournament, Air Force was ranked 16th in the nation, the highest in school history entering the NCAA Tournament. Senior Paul Weisgarber was a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, recognizing excellence on the ice, in the classroom and in the community. Senior Tim Kirby was one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, given annually to college hockey's top player. Kirby was also a second-team CCM/AHCA and second team USCHO.com All-American. Four Falcons earned all-conference honors at the AHA Banquet in Rochester, N.Y. Kirby was named the AHA Player of Year, the AHA Defenseman of the Year and was a first-team all-conference selection. Kirby's defensive partner, senior Scott Mathis, was also a first-team selection. Junior forward Kyle De Laurell was a first-team selection while junior forward John Kruse was a second-team choice. Five Falcons were named to the AHA All-Tournament team led by sophomore goalie Jason Torf who was named the tournament's most valuable player. Joining Torf on the all-tournament team were Kirby, Mathis, Weisgarber and Cole Gunner.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago