Air Force hockey announces 2012-13 award winners
Stephen Carew

April 7, 2013

U.S AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. - The Air Force hockey team announced its 2012-13 award winners at the end-of-season banquet, presented by the Falcon Blue Line Club, Sunday, April 7, at Embassy Suites Hotel in Colorado Springs. Seven different players were honored at the banquet.

Senior Stephen Carew, Eden Prairie, Minn., was named the winner of the Vic Heyliger award. This award, voted on by the team, is the cornerstone of Air Force hockey. It is awarded to the player whose dedication, character, leadership and work ethic exemplifies Falcon hockey and is named after the Academy's first hockey coach. A team captain, Carew capped off his senior season with career highs of 12 goals and 29 points. A finalist for the Senior Class Award, he was Air Force's top faceoff man taking nearly 500 draws and winning 55 percent of them.

Senior Kyle De Laurell, Mission Viejo, Calif. (Colorado Springs Pine Creek High School), earned the Chuck Delich Most Valuable Player award. This award, voted on by the team, is named after the Falcons' all-time leading scorer and all-time leading goal scorer in the history of NCAA hockey. De Laurell led the team with 19 goals and 36 points. A first-team all-AHA selection, he led the conference in goal scoring and was fifth in the league with four game-winning goals. Not only was he an offensive force, but his +21 was the best on the team and was second best in the conference.

Senior David Bosner, Chesterfield, Mo., won the Jim Bowman Award as the team's top scholar-athlete. Bosner has been on the dean's list every semester. He carries a 3.59 cumulative grade point average with a double major in legal studies and political science and a minor in Spanish. Just recently, he was selected to go to law school after graduation.

Junior Adam McKenzie was named the team's defensive player of the year. This award is presented to the defensive player who the coaching staff feels was the team's most diligent defensive performer. Defensive habits and skill, along with plus-minus ratio, are factors used to select the recipient. McKenzie's solid defensive play, along with a scoring touch in the second half of season, earned him the conference defensive player of the year award and first-team all-AHA honors. He scored eight goals and had 12 assists in 30 games.



Sophomore Mike McDonald, Mahtomedi, Minn., was named the team most improved player. This award is voted on by the team. McDonald played in only two games last season, but became a physical presence on the blue line this season. He played in 36 of the 37 games and finished the season with two goals and five assists and was a +4.

Freshman Ben Carey, Centennial, Colo., earned the John Matchefts Award as the team's top freshman. This award, voted on by the team, is named in honor of the Falcons' second coach who won 154 games at the Academy to tie as the second-most in school history. Carey was among the conference's top freshman scorers all season. He finished the season with 15 points on six goals and nine assists and was named the Atlantic Hockey Rookie of the Week after a three-point weekend against Holy Cross.

Junior Ryan Timar, Novi, Mich., was the winner of the Larry Cronk Award as the team's most inspirational player. This award, voted on by the team, is presented to the player whose play on the ice inspired his team and most typifies Falcon hockey. This player's energy, effort and intensity never took a shift off. Along with blocking shots on the penalty kill and finishing checks, he also tallied six goals and five assists in 35 games. --30--

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago