Five Falcons Earn All-Atlantic Hockey Association Awards

March 19, 2009


ROCHESTER, N.Y. - Five Air Force Falcons earned awards at the Atlantic Hockey Association banquet, Thursday, March 19, at the Clarion Riverside Hotel in Rochester, N.Y. Sophomore center Jacques Lamoureux was named the Player of the Year while senior Greg Flynn was named the AHA's Best Defenseman.

Lamoureux and Flynn were joined on the first team by goaltender Andrew Volkening. Junior left winger Matt Fairchild was named to the third team. Freshman defenseman Scott Mathis was named to the all-rookie team. The three first-team selections and five total players honored are the most in school history. Lamoureux becomes the third Air Force player to earn conference player of the year honors as Eric Ehn earned the AHA honor in 2007 and goaltender Marc Kielkucki earned the College Hockey America honor in 2001.

Lamoureux leads the nation with 31 goals, 15 power-play goals and eight game-winning goals. He is currently second in the nation with 1.38 points per game (31-20-51) and 51 points. In league games, he led the AHA with 38 points, 23 goals, 12 power play goals and five game winners. The Grand Forks, N.D., native was named the Hockey Commissioner's Association National Player of the Month in October with 15 points (8-7-15). He also finished the season strong as he tied his season high with four points (2-2-4) in Air Force's 8-1 win over Sacred Heart in the AHA Quarterfinals to send the Falcons to the AHA Final Four. Lamoureux also earned the league's scoring trophy with 38 points in 28 AHA games.



Flynn was the top scoring defenseman in the nation with 1.05 points per game (7-32-39). In league games, he led the AHA with 26 points (3-23-36) in 28 games. He also led all AHA defenseman with a +19 this season. The senior from Lino Lakes, Minn., tied his career bests with two goals and four points to lead Air Force to an 8-1 win over Sacred Heart in the third and deciding game of the AHA Quarterfinals as the Falcons defeated the Pioneers, 8-1, March 15.

Volkening led the AHA and was fifth in the nation with a 2.13 goals-against average in all games. He was fifth in the league with a .911 saves percentage in all games. In league games, the junior from Genoa, Ill., led the AHA with a 2.09 GAA and 20 victories this season. He was fourth in saves percentage with a .915. Volkening was named the AHA Goaltender of the Month for both October and November. His 25 wins this season in all games are the most in school history. He has allowed more than three goals just four times in 37 games this season. Volkening is one of just two goaltenders in the nation to play every minute this season. Volkening also earned the league's goaltending trophy with a 2.09 GAA in AHA games.

Fairchild, a junior left winger from Ashburn, Va., was sixth in the league with 14 goals and was tied for 10th in the AHA with 29 points in 28 conference games. His four short-handed goals in all games led the league and were tied for second in the nation. He scored at least one point in 13 of the last 17 games this season. Mathis, a freshman defenseman from Crystal Lake, Ill., was second in the league in points by a freshman defenseman with 12 (3-9-12) in 28 AHA games. He ranked ninth in the AHA and 43rd in the nation in points by a freshman in all games with 0.56 per game (4-16-20). His 20 points are the most by an Air Force freshman defenseman since the Falcons joined a Division I conference in 1999-2000.

All-AHA First Team Jacques Lamoureux, So., F, Air Force Owen Meyer, Jr., F, Army Brennan Sarazin, Sr., F, RIT Greg Flynn, Sr., D, Air Force Zach McKelvie, Sr., D, Army Dan Ringwald, Jr., D, RIT Andrew Volkening, Jr., G, Air Force

All-AHA Second Team Dain Prewitt, Sr., F, Bentley Steve Cameron, So., F, Mercyhurst Matt Pierce, Sr., F, Mercyhurst Bobby Raymond, Sr., D, RIT Sean Erickson, Sr., D, UConn Ryan Zapolski, So., G, Mercyhurst

All-AHA Third Team Matt Fairchild, Jr., F, Air Force Jason Weeks, Jr., F, Canisius Scott Pitt, So., F, Mercyhurst Alan Mazur, Jr., D, RIT Carl Hudson, Canisius Kyle Rank, Fr., G, Bentley

All-Rookie Team David Kostuch, F, Canisius Phil Ginand, F, Mercyhurst Tyler Brenner, F, RIT Marcel Alvarez, D, Army Scott Mathis, D, Air Force Kyle Rank, G, Bentley

Player of the Year: Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force Rookie of the Year: David Kostuch, Canisius Coach of the Year: Ryan Soderquist, Bentley Best Defenseman: Greg Flynn, Air Force Best Defensive Forward: Anthony Canzoneri,, Bentley Individual Sportsmanship Award: Anthony Canzoneri, Bentley Team Sportsmanship Award: Army Regular-Season Scoring Trophy: Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force (28 gp, 23-15-38) Regular-Season Goaltending Trophy: Andrew Volkening, Air Force (28 gp, 2.09 GAA) Regular-Season Co-Champions: Air Force, RIT

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago