Three Falcons earn all-conference honors
March 9, 2017

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY – Three Falcons earn all-Atlantic Hockey Conference honors, as selected by the league’s coaches.

Junior defenseman Phil Boje was named first team all-conference, while junior forward Jordan Himley was named to the second team and sophomore goalie Shane Starrett was named to the third team.

Boje, from Shoreview, Minn., was third in the league with 69 blocked shots in conference games only. He tied for seventh in points by a defenseman with 15 in 28 league games. In all games, he was second in the league in points by a defenseman with 25 (7-18-25). This is Boje’s first all-conference honor. He has scored a point in eight of his last 10 games.

Himley, from Mundelein, Ill., was second in league games only with 14 goals. In all games, he was second with 18 goals and tied for ninth with 30 points. This is Himley’s first all-conference honor. He has 11 points (4-7-11) in his last seven games.

Starrett, from Bellingham, Mass., tied for third in conference games in goals-against average (1.90) and was fourth in saves percentage (.924). His .740 winning percentage in league games was second in the league. In all games, he led the league in winning percentage (.767), was fourth in GAA (2.08) and fourth in saves percentage (.922). Starrett was named first-team all-conference and all-rookie last season.

Air Force, 22-9-5 overall, hosts Bentley University in a best-of-three quarterfinal series, March 10-12, at the Cadet Ice Arena.


2016-17 Atlantic Hockey
Regular Season Award Recipients




First Team All-Conference

F - Brady Ferguson, Robert Morris University

F - Max French, Bentley University

F - Justin Danforth, Sacred Heart University

D - Lester Lancaster, Mercyhurst University

D - Phil Boje, Air Force Academy

G - Charles Williams, Canisius College


Second Team All-Conference

F - Ryan Schmelzer, Canisius College

F - Derek Barach, Mercyhurst University

F - Jordan Himley, Air Force Academy

D - Cameron Heath, Canisius College

D - Brady Norrish, Rochester Institute of Technology

G - Parker Gahagen, Army West Point


Third Team All-Conference

F - Danny Lopez, Holy Cross

F - Daniel Leavens, Robert Morris University

F - Dylan McLaughlin, Canisius College

D - Spencer Trapp, Holy Cross

D - Eric Israel, Robert Morris University

G - Shane Starrett, Air Force Academy



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago