Air Force's Jason Torf a candidate for inaugural Mike Richter Award
Jason Torf

Feb. 28, 2014

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. - Air Force senior goaltender Jason Torf is one of 18 candidates for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, honoring the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men's hockey as announced today by Let's Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation. The inaugural award will be presented at the 2014 NCAA Men's Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

Torf has played in 21 games this season and has a 2.60 goals-against average with a .911 saves percentage. He has an 11-6-4 overall record. Torf has played in 110 career games and has led the Falcons to two Atlantic Hockey Association tournament championships, a regular-season title and two NCAA Tournaments. His .916 career saves percentage is the best in school history and his 2.45 career GAA is the third-best.

Torf is is joined by Sam Brittain (Denver), Aaron Crandall (Minnesota Duluth), Thatcher Demko (Boston College), Ryan Faragher (St. Cloud State), Jon Gillies (Providence), Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell), Jake Hildebrand (Michigan State), Andy Iles (Cornell), C.J. Motte (Ferris State), Zach Nagelvoort (Michigan), Martin Oullette (Maine), Joel Rumpel (Wisconsin), Jimmy Sarjeant (Mercyhurst) , Colin Stevens (Union), Steve Summerhays (Notre Dame), Adam Wilcox (Minnesota), Clay Witt (Northeastern).

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 59 NCAA Division I men's hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. The criteria for the Mike Richter Award includes: Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice; Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university; Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship; Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season; and Consideration should be given to the candidate's activities in the community.



The award is named in honor of Mike Richter, the former Wisconsin goaltender who went on to win a Stanley Cup with the New York Rangers and a member of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame. --30--
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago