Abood named finalist for Senior CLASS Award
Feb. 16, 2018


U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. – Air Force senior Dylan Abood has been selected as a finalist for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award for hockey. Abood is one of 10 men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice.

Abood is the 10th Falcon in the last 12 years to be a finalist for the prestigious award. In 2011, Jacques Lamoureux became the only Air Force player in any sport to win the Senior CLASS Award.

Abood carries a 3.85 overall grade point average while majoring in electrical engineering. The Centennial, Colo., native has been on the Dean’s List every semester. He is a two-time, first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District selection and has been named academic all-conference three times. This past summer, he was selected for the Cadet Summer Research Program with MIT Lincoln under Group 73 (Energy Systems), building, developing and testing a portable solar power system to assist with disaster relief operations.

A flight commander in his squadron, he has volunteered numerous hours in the community, including Break Time, assisting families that have special needs children,  the Marion House Soup Kitchen, assisting with the Colorado Springs homeless population and local fire mitigation units, assisting with the clean-up of wild fires in Colorado.



On the ice, Abood is a two-time team captain. He has played in 111 career games and has recorded 26 career points (4-22-26). Earlier this season, he scored the game-winner against Arizona State, the second game-winner of his career. Abood is a +32 for his career. All stats are as of Feb. 16, 2018.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Abood is joined as a finalist by Michael Bitzer (Bemidji State), Jake Evans (Notre Dame), Brady Ferguson (Robert Morris), Karson Kuhlman (Minnesota Duluth), Mitch McLain (Bowling Green), Judd Peterson (St. Cloud State), Sam Piazza (Michigan), Austin Poganski (North Dakota) and Ryan Schmelzer (Canisius).

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of candidates announced in the fall. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 26. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago