Phillipich a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

Feb. 11, 2009

USAFA, Colo. - Air Force senior hockey players Mike Phillipich is one of 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS award, recognizing student-athletes who have combined excellence in athletics, academics and community service.

Phillipich, a right winger from Lansing, Mich., is in his second season as the team's captain. A systems engineering management major, he carries a 3.77 overall grade point average and a 3.87 GPA in his major. His has been on the dean's list every semester and is a three-time academic all-conference selection. The most valuable player of the Atlantic Hockey Association Tournament in 2007, Phillipich has played in 124 career games and has scored 87 career points.

The award is presented annually to an NCAA's Division I student-athlete in nine sports based on achievements in the "Four C's" of classroom, character, community and competition. CLASS is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School. The Lowe's Senior CLASS Award was launched in 2001 to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who fulfill their entire athletic eligibility and pursue the many rewards of a senior season and complete college education. This is year marks the third class for the men's ice hockey division.

Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, expanded the Senior CLASS Award program in 2007 to include NCAA Division I men's ice hockey in addition to men's lacrosse, baseball, softball and men's and women's soccer. Football (Bowl Subdivision) has been added in 2008, bringing the award program's total of NCAA sports to nine.

The 10 finalists will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote that will include coaches, media and fans concluding March 26. The award winner will be announced and recognized at the 2009 NCAA Frozen Four in Washington, D.C. Hockey fans around the country can vote online at

Phillipich becomes the third consecutive Falcon to be a finalist of the Lowe's Award, joining Billy Devoney in 2007 and Frank Schiavone in 2008. Joining Phillipich as a finalist this season are Andrew Carroll (Minnesota-Duluth), Erik Condra (Notre Dame), Matt Cook (Union), Chris Hahn (Maine), Trevor Hyatt (Alaska-Fairbanks), Mathias Lange (Rensselaer), Jeff Lerg (Michigan State), Jordan Pearce (Notre Dame) and Dean Strong (Vermont). --30--



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago