Josh Ramos, Air Force Coaches Earn Top USAG Honors
Kip Simons
March 21, 2015

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - The Air Force men's gymnastics team swept the Varsity Division awards today (March 21), capping off a stellar weekend of action at the 2015 USAG Collegiate National Championships. Senior Josh Ramos was named co-Gymnast of the Year and Kip Simons was voted as Head Coach of the Year, while Josh Loeser and Jeff Robinson shared the assistant coaches' award.

These awards, selected by the USAG coaches, were presented during today's individual event finals.

Ramos, who shared the Varsity Division's Gymnast of the Year award with William and Mary's Michael Dietz, is the seventh gymnast in Academy history to earn the USAG Gymnast of the Year award. Ramos is in the midst of a strong senior season, setting the program's parallel bars record (15.600) during last night's team finals. The CGA national gymnast of the week one week ago, Ramos received the Iron Cross Award at the All-Academy Championships.

It is the fifth USAG Varsity Head Coach of the Year award for Simons, who also received the honor in 2008, 2010, 2012 and 2013. He has guided the Falcons to six straight USAG team titles (the only such titles in program history) and a No. 10 ranking in the current NCAA standings.

Robinson is in his fifth season as an assistant coach for the Falcons, while Loeser is in his third. The pair's honor marks the fifth time in six years that Air Force has claimed the top assistant coaching honor from the USAG (Brett McClure/Chuck Schweiss in 2010, Robinson/Schweiss in 2011, Robinson/Schweiss in 2012, Robinson/Loeser in 2013).

In the Club Division, Washington's Franklin Stutevoss was named the Gymnast of the Year, while Arizona State's Scott Barclay, Evan Shaw and Rob Survick claimed the coaching awards.



Air Force successfully defended its national title for the sixth straight year on Friday night, while Ramos (floor exercise), Denis Aurelius (floor exercise), Greg Chaput (parallel bars), Josh Pyne (vault), and Tim Wang (pommel horse) earned individual USAG titles earlier this afternoon. In addition to the event winners, Fletcher Braunton (still rings), Chase Cannon (vault), Aaron Nubine (floor exercise), Ramos (parallel bars) and Arinn Wade (pommel horse) earned USAG All-America distinction.

(co) Varsity Division Gymnast of the Year: Josh Ramos (Air Force)
(co) Varsity Division Gymnast of the Year: Michael Dietz (William and Mary)
Varsity Division Coach of the Year: Kip Simons (Air Force)
Varsity Division Assistant Coach of the Year: Jeff Robinson, Josh Loeser (Air Force)

Club Division Gymnast of the Year: Franklin Stutevoss (Washington)
Club Division Coach of the Year: Scot Barclay (Arizona State)
Club Division Assistant Coach of the Year: Rob Survick, Evan Shaw (Arizona State)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago