Kyle Westmoreland Named to All-MW Team for Second Straight Year

    Senior Kyle Westmoreland
    Senior Kyle Westmoreland

    May 1, 2014

    Air Force senior Kyle Westmoreland was named to the 2013-14 all-Mountain West golf team for the second consecutive year on Thursday. The league's 11 men's head coaches picked the all-conference teams, as well as the coach, golfer and freshman of the year.

    Westmoreland, the only senior on this year's team, is currently ranked No. 3 in the Mountain West with a season stroke average of 71.58. He posted five top-five finishes and six top-10 finishes this year, including a win at AFA's Falcon Invitational last September and a fourth-place finish at last weekend's Mountain West Championships.

    He is the third player from Air Force to earn multiple spots on the all-MW team, joining Tom Whitney and Tyler Goulding. Westmoreland's stroke average is the best in program history, surpassing Whitney's 71.7 during the 2009-10 season.

    New Mexico junior Gavin Green was selected as Mountain West Golfer of the Year, while Ricky DeSantis of San Diego State was named MW Freshman of the Year. MW Coach of the Year honors went to Glen Millican of New Mexico for the second consecutive season.

    2013-14 Mountain West Golf Awards

    Golfer of the Year
    Gavin Green, Jr., New Mexico

    Freshman of the Year
    Ricky DeSantis, San Diego State

    Coach of the Year
    Glen Millican, New Mexico

    All-Conference Team
    Kyle Westmoreland, Sr., Air Force
    Gavin Green, Jr., New Mexico
    Victor Perez, Jr., New Mexico
    Ricky DeSantis, Fr., San Diego State
    Riccardo Michelini, So., San Diego State
    Xander Schauffele, Jr., San Diego State
    Cody Blick, So., San José State
    Carl Jonson, Jr., UNLV
    Kurt Kitayama, Jr., UNLV
    Zane Thomas, So., UNLV




    Inside Men's Golf