Falcons Finish Fourth at Mtn. West Championships
Senior Kyle Westmoreland finished fourth at the Mtn. West Championships

April 27, 2014

Final ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

The Air Force golf team fired a final round team score of 279 (-5) Sunday and tied the school's best finish ever in a conference tournament for the second consecutive year with a fourth-place finish at the 2014 Mountain West Championships, held at the par-71, 7,144-yard Catalina Course at OMNI Tucson National. Air Force, which also finished fourth at the 1993 Western Athletic Conference Championships, posted a three-round total of 861 (+9), its best score ever at a conference tournament. 

Individually, senior Kyle Westmoreland led the Falcons with a three-round total of two-under par 211, good for a fourth place finish, the best by a Falcon at a conference tournament since Judd McGlohn won the 1985 WAC Championships. Westmoreland fired an even-par 71 on Sunday for his second straight top 10 result at the MW Championships.

Fellow senior Philip Colwell earned his first career top 10 finish at the Mtn. West Championships with a team-best 67 in his final collegiate round. Colwell, who posted the second-best score among the 55 players on Sunday, finished in a tie for seventh place with a total of even-par 213. Air Force placed two players in the Mtn. West's top 10 for the first time in the 15-year history of the tournament.

Senior Jack Howard (220) and freshman Sunwoo Choi (221) finished in a tie for 22nd and 27th respectively, while senior Todd Berglund tied for 33rd with a three-round total of 223. Berglund shot a one-under par 70 and Howard an even-par 71 in their final collegiate round.

"We (along with assistant coach Chris Wilson) feel like our seniors have really worked hard to elevate Air Force golf in the conference and across the nation," said head coach George Koury. "It was great to see them go out on a high note. We are proud of how our guys competed during all three rounds this weekend."

New Mexico won its second consecutive team title, defeating San Diego State by three strokes, while UNM's Gavin Green defeated SDSU's Riccardo Michellini on the first playoff hole for the individual title.



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago