Nick Charles named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Aug. 11, 2009

USAFA, Colo. - Air Force senior guard Nick Charles is one of 40 college football players named to the 2009 Outland Trophy Watch List, as announced today featured on ESPN's "College Football Live." The annual watch list includes only interior linemen - tackles, guards and centers on both sides of the ball. The Mountain West Conference had two players on the list as Charles was joined by Utah offensive lineman Zane Beadles.

Charles was a first-team preseason all-MWC selection. A second-team all-league selection as a sophomore and junior, Charles has anchored an offensive line that has helped the Falcons to a conference rushing title and a top 10 national rushing ranking each of the last two years. Last season, Charles led the Falcons with 16.4 knockdown blocks per game. He has started every game each of the last two years.

In 1987, Air Force defensive end Chad Hennings won the Outland Trophy, to become the first and only Falcon to win the prestigious award.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10 in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 14 in Omaha, Neb.

Jon Asamoah, Illinois, G	        Kristofer O'Dowd, USC, C
Geno Atkins, Georgia, DT	        Jared Odrick, Penn State, DT
Zane Beadles, Utah, OL	        Vince Oghobaase, Duke, DT
Ciron Black, LSU , OT	        Russell Okung, Oklahoma State, OT
Bryan Bulaga, Iowa, OT	        Jeff Owens, Georgia, DT
Jeff Byers, USC, G	                 Mike Pouncey, Florida, OL
Brandon Carter, Texas Tech, G      Maurkice Pouncey, Florida, C
Nick Charles, Air Force, G	       Brian Price, UCLA, DT
Terrence Cody, Alabama, DT	       Sergio Render, Virginia Tech, G
Anthony Davis, Rutgers, OT	       Boo Robinson, Wake Forest, NG
Chris Fisher, La-Lafayette, C      Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas, DT
Kurtis Gregory, Missouri, G	       D'Anthony Smith, Louisiana Tech, DT
Chris Hall, Texas, C 	       Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, DT
Mike Iupati, Idaho, OL	       Matt Tennant, Boston College, C
John Jerry, Ole Miss, OT	       Torrell Troup, UCF, DT
Mike Johnson, Alabama, OL	       Adam Ulatoski, Texas, OT
Arthur Jones, Syracuse, DT         J.D. Walton, Baylor, C
Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma, DT	       Trent Williams, Oklahoma, OT
Josh McNeil, Tennessee, C	       Stefen Wisniewski, Penn State, C
Andre Neblett, Temple, NT	       Sam Young, Notre Dame, OT



Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago