Warzeka one of 50 on Hornung Award Watch List
Jonathan Warzeka

Aug. 8, 2011

Air Force senior WR/KR Jonathan Warzeka is one of 50 players on the 2011 Watch List for the Paul Hurnung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, announced today by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend Paul Hornung.

Warzeka is a preseason all-Mountain West Conference selection and was named the conference's preseason special teams player of the year. He led the MWC in kickoff returns last season with a 28.7 average and his 27.9 career average is the best in Air Force history. Warzeka has two career 100-yard kickoff returns touchdowns, vs. Houston in the 2009 Armed Forces Bowl and last season vs. Colorado State.

Warzeka finished fifth in the conference in all-purpose yards last season with a 103.8 per-game average. He tied for the team lead in receiving with 18 catches for a team-best 406 yards. He was a mid-season All-American selection as a kickoff return specialist by multiple publications. He earned honorable mention all-MWC honors as a receiver.

The 2011 Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on 2010 statistics and expectations heading into the 2011 season. There are 20 seniors, 20 juniors and 10 sophomores representing 46 universities and all 11 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). For the complete watch list visit paulhornungaward.com.

In 2010, players on this year's Paul Hornung Award Watch List accounted for 16,913 rushing yards, 15,287 receiving yards, 23,548 kickoff return yards, 3,990 punt return yards and 547 total tackles. Reminiscent of Hornung during his playing days, members of the Watch List demonstrated a knack for scoring, posting 300 total touchdowns and 1,806 points a year ago.

"Our goal from day one with the Paul Hornung Award has been to recognize versatile players that excel at multiple positions to help their teams win, which is how I played the game," Hornung said. "Last year I thought we hit the mark with our finalists, Jeremy Kerley (TCU) and Randall Cobb (Kentucky), and of course with our winner, Owen Marecic of Stanford.



The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players that often go unnoticed. Owen Marecic of Stanford, a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker, won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award in 2010.
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago