Husar, Jr. named to Rimington Trophy watch list for fall
Michael Husar

July 8, 2014

Air Force senior Michael Husar, Jr. is one of 66 players nationwide named to the Fall Rimington Trophy Watch List. The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The 14-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

Husar, Jr. returned from season-ending knee injury to lead the Air Force offensive line last season. He played and started in all 12 games in 2013 and led the team in knockdown blocks with 70, the first center in the Calhoun era to do so. He worked with four different starting quarterbacks and anchored an offensive line that allowed just nine quarterback sacks which ranked second in the conference and seventh nationally. The offensive line helped Air Force rank second in the conference and 11th nationally in rushing with a 272.5 per-game. Husar, Jr. is a biology major and member of cadet squadron 4. A member of the dean's and commandant's lists, Husar, Jr. will be entering space operations at Vandenberg Air Force Base following graduation.

Trophy Selection Process: While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner: Walter Camp Foundation (WCF), Sporting News (SN), Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams.



The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 17, 2015.
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago