Boxers Seek Fourth National Title


    April 1, 2002

    Air Force will find out if they are the "Lord of The Ring" this weekend when 11 boxers travel to Annapolis to compete in the National Collegiate Boxing Association Championships at the U.S. Naval Academy's Halsey Hall. Competition begins Thursday with quarterfinal bouts and concludes with the finals on Saturday.

    Last year the Falcons won their third consecutive national boxing championship and in the process crowned three gold medal winners at the City Pavilion in Reno, NV. The Falcons tallied 37 team points to outscore second-place Penn State with 32 and the Naval Academy with 27.

    Two of the three national champions are making the cross-country trip to try and defend their title--Ulysses Linares (147-pound division) and Dustin Brown (195-pound division). Last year, Linares won a unanimous decision over Penn State's Nathan LaBuda. Brown won his second consecutive national title by dominating Max Raymond from UNLV.

    The only other Falcon to be making a return trip to the NCBA championships is Joe Harding in the 165-pound weight class. Harding won a bronze medal last year after losing his semifinal bout.

    During spring break the boxing team has been training two times a day. The mornings were spent with conditioning drills and "lots of running," according to head coach Eddie Weichers. In the afternoon the team worked on sparring drills, technique and watched films.

    "We were fortunate over the break to have the Army team train here," Weichers said. "They have seven cadets in the nationals and we got in a lot of sharp work and some great sparring with them."

    Weichers said the main competition for the team title is expected to be between Navy and Air Force. Both teams qualified 11 boxers. So the team total depends on how many boxers advance and win in the finals!

    Here is a complete list of boxers in each weight divisions:

    112-lbs -- Lawerence Tam, Nevada, Josh Veney, Navy, Art Tusil, Lock Haven , Xenon Mallari, UNLV.
    119-lbs -- Ahmad Ghaffar, Navy, Ray Raymos, Army, Chris Robinette, Michigan, Darren Smith, Air Force, Lyndon Manalpou, UNLV, Daigo Moki, Nevada.
    125-lbs -- John Stout, Lock Haven, Adam Mallo, Navy, Tony Delarosa, Citadel, Lyle Nixon, UNLV, Eamon Murray, Air Force, Ben Torres, San Jose St.
    132-lbs -- Fred Kim, Army, Frank Parisi, Navy, Gus Pugliese, Lock Haven, Will Geiger, Miami of Ohio, Masamich Matsumoto, Nevada, Mike Lanager, UNLV, Dathan Salgado, Air Force, Spencer Robbins, VMI.
    139-lbs -- Steve Cobos, Navy, Comanche Garcia, Lock Haven, Theron Thingstad, Michigan, Jose Gonzales, UNLV, Matt Haley, Penn State, Vaughn Brazil, Air Force, Lupe Rameriz, San Jose St, Christain Semple, Coast Guard.
    147-lbs -- Ulysses Linares, Air Force, Nathan Labuda, Penn State, Bobby Villanueva, Navy, Shaw Ebrahimi, Nevada, Tony Peters, VMI, Sam Skeist, Miami of Ohio, Abu Ramin, Cal-Berkeley, Jeff Raymond, Lock Haven.
    156-lbs -- Alex Komlev, Penn State, Rick Weil, Navy, Tom Cisar, Air Force, Jamal Chartman, Michigan, David Wengall, UNLV, Julio Romo, San Jose St, Patrick Norwood, Citadel, Derrick McGraw, Lock Haven.
    165-lbs -- Boyd Melson, Army, Joe Harding, Air Force, Nick Sidiropoulos, Navy, Justin Persons, Nevada, Matt Miles, Michigan, Miles Rivas, Penn State, Ryan Wood, Kentucky, Bert Minjares, UNLV.
    175-lbs -- Amir Shareef, Navy, Chuck Mussachio, Lock Haven, Tom Summers, Army, Rodney Ellison, Air Force, Wes Smith, Kentucky, Mike Schuck, Cal-Berkeley, Eric North, Citadel, Jim Neely, Penn State.
    185-lbs -- Ben Zuber, Navy, Miro Jelev, Lock Haven, Duane Mantel, Army, Chris Hart, Air Force, Pete North, Miami of Ohio, Matt Jones, Kentucky.
    195-lbs -- Dustin Brown, Air Force, Bobby Greer, Army, Nick Spinosa, Penn State, Brandon McGarrell, Kentucky, Brian Levenberg, Michigan, Bill Wheeler, Cal-Berkeley, Nick McCann, Miami of Ohio.
    Hwt-lbs -- Louis O'hiaeri, UNLV, Jeff Watkins, Navy, Luke Runion, Penn State, Brian Floyd, Citadel, Darwin Maull, Army, Chad Gilpin, Kentucky, Justin Pendry, Air Force, Derrick Zahlar, Cal-Berkeley.



    Inside Boxing