Air Force Set for Wing Open Championship Finals

Feb. 26, 2013

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - After two weeks of hard-hitting preliminary action, members of the Air Force boxing team will compete in the finals of the 55th-annual Wing Open Championships this Thursday (Feb. 28), under the lights at Clune Arena. Highlighted by bouts in 10 weight classes, these contenders are ready to earn their spot in Academy history.

Of the 22 finalists on the card, seven are previous champions and three others have been finalists. Past champions include senior Drew Pineda (2010, 2011, 2012), sophomore Roy Taylor (2012), junior Andrew Munoz (2012), senior Glenn Miltenberg (2011, 2012), junior Denis Vorobyov (2011, 2012), senior Logan Brandt (2012) and senior Olawale Lawal (2012), while junior Stephen Bittner (2011, 2012), junior Ethan Salgado (2012) and senior Will Petersen (2010, 2011, 2012) are previous finalists. Despite the number of returners, the 125-pound bout (Taylor vs. Bittner) is the only rematch on this year's card.

Highlighting the roster of first-time finalists are four freshmen, including Gytenis Borusas and Phil Mays, who will meet in the 185-pound contest. Also making their first appearance in the main ring are freshmen Matt Arcano and Jacob Berggren, sophomores Michael Magtalas, Aaron Oats and Keith Sasine, juniors Sean Cork and James Monk, and seniors Mike Leland, Justin Smith and Cameron Vickroy.



112-lbs.: Drew Pineda (unopposed)
119-lbs.: Michael Magtalas vs. Matt Arcano
125-lbs.: Roy Taylor vs. Stephen Bittner
132-lbs.: Jacob Berggren vs. Andrew Munoz
139-lbs.: Ethan Salgado vs. Will Petersen
147-lbs.: Glenn Miltenberg vs. Sean Cork
156-lbs.: Mike Leland vs. James Monk
165-lbs.: Denis Vorobyov vs. Keith Sasine
175-lbs.: Logan Brandt vs. Justin Smith
185-lbs.: Phil Mays vs. Gytenis Borusas
195-lbs.: Aaron Oats vs. Cameron Vickroy
Hywt.: Olawale Lawal (unopposed)

With a walkover win at 112 pounds, Pineda will become the 13th boxer in program history to earn four consecutive Wing Open titles. Pineda is a two-time NCBA national champion, while Lawal won the heavyweight title at last year's national championship meet. The winners of the Wing Open will join Pineda and Lawal to form the nucleus of the Air Force team that will compete at the regional and national championships. The Falcons have won 19 of 32 NCBA national team titles, including the 2012 trophy.

The 2013 Wing Open Championships are slated to begin at 7 pm. Admission is free. In addition, the finals will be streamed live on

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago