Falcons Mix It Up During Friday Night Fights

Oct. 19, 2007

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - Featuring both veteran talent and new faces, the Air Force boxing team hosted another round of Friday Night Fights on Oct. 19 in the Upper Boxing Room of the Cadet Gym. In all, 24 boxers competed in 11 different weight classes, while sophomore Bailey Ball earned his first Boxer of the Week honor.


"All of the bouts were extremely hard fought," the coaching staff of Eddie Weichers and Capt. Erwin Vargas stated after the match. "Many (of the bouts) were decided by the last few exchanges."


Ball was awarded his first-ever Boxer of the Week accolade after defeating Michael Dunn in a referee-stopped 155-pound contest. Ball delivered vicious combinations to the head and body, causing the referee to call the bout with 20 seconds left.


Harvey White opened the contest with a decision over Alexander Shin at 136 pounds. Clifford Moore followed with a 172-pound decision over Ryan Price, while Brian Navin decisioned Sean May at 155 pounds.




Daryn Nelson defeated Fred Diederich in a 161-pound decision, while Andrew Catoire took a 185-pound decision from Elon Brumfield. The next two bouts also came by decision, as Nathan Liptak defeated Seth Gunn at 153 pounds and Robert Steigerwald won his 167-pound contest with Matt Lundquist.


Cory Tintzman produced the shortest bout of the night, as the referee stopped his 210-pound bout with Charles Arden in the first round. David Hooper decisioned Kevin Chavez at 230 pounds, while Austin Almand earned a decision over Andrew Cooper at 168 pounds. Gavin Foley earned a judges' decision over Michael Nettis at 148 pounds.


Air Force heads to Detroit, Mich., for the annual Service Academy Classic on Friday, Oct. 26. The Falcons will face Army and Navy at the Detroit Athletic Club. Action begins at 8 p.m. (EST).



136-lbs.: Harvey White (CS-20) dec. Alexander Shin (CS-32)

172-lbs.: Clifford Moore (CS-14) dec. Ryan Price (CS-24)

155-lbs.: Brian Navin (CS-12) dec. Sean May (CS-37)

161-lbs.: Daryn Nelson (CS-26) dec. Fred Diederich (CS-29)

185-lbs.: Andrew Catoire (CS-40) dec. Elon Brumfield (CS-27)

153-lbs.: Nathan Liptak (CS-40) dec. Seth Gunn (CS-22)

167-lbs.: Robert Steigerwald (CS-27) dec. Matt Lundquist (CS-30)

210-lbs.: Cory Tintzman (CS-36) rsc-1 Charles Arden (CS-33)

230-lbs.: David Hooper (CS-37) dec. Kevin Chavez (CS-14)

168-lbs.: Austin Almand (CS-31) dec. Andrew Cooper (CS-13)

148-lbs.: Gavin Foley (CS-16) dec. Michael Nettis (CS-20)

155-lbs.: Bailey Ball (CS-04) rsc-3 Michael Dunn (CS-13)

John Sims AF AotW
Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago