Falcons Advance 14 with Hard-Hitting Semifinal Round
Glenn Miltenberg

Feb. 21, 2012

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - With a spot in the Wing Open Championship finals on the line, 28 members of the Air Force boxing team brought their best effort to the Cadet Gym this evening during semifinal action of the 54th annual Wing Open Boxing Tournament. Glenn Miltenberg was named the Academy's Boxer of the Week.

Competing at 147 pounds, Miltenberg served as the aggressor throughout the six-minute bout with John Alora, landing some very effective body shots to claim the judges' decision. He will face Craig Spranger in a rematch of last year's Wing Open finals, as Spranger decisioned Sean Cork.

At 156 pounds, Tyrus Korecki earned a decision over Nolan Hebein to advance to his fourth Wing Open Championship bout, while freshman Blaze Dunn defeated Mike Leland by decision to round out the bracket at that weight class. Casey Habluetzel, the defending 165-pound champion, earned a hard-hitting victory over Zigmas Polinauskas when he forced the referee to step in and call the bout in the second round. Habluetzel will face junior Chris Nelson, who earned his first appearance in the final after decisioning Matt Anthony.

Four other weight classes were also finalized this evening. Roy Taylor won his 125-pound bout with Michael Magtalas, while Andrew Munoz defeated Julian Gluck at 132 pounds. Dan Starr earned a victory at 139 pounds after forcing the referee to stop the bout with Miguel Martinez in the first round. Andre Guthrie also advanced with an early victory, when his 185-pound opponent Nate Landecker injured his arm in the first round.



Three-time champ Mike McLain claimed his 175-pound semifinal victory before the first bell, as the referee had to call his bout with Charles Weeks in the first round. McLain will face Denis Vorobyov in a rematch of last year's finals, as Vorobyov decisioned Derek Demyanek in the semifinal round for the second straight year. A pair of newcomers claimed the heavyweight spots on the roster, as Wale Lawal defeated defending champion Nate Bratka in the second round and Joseph Okai took a decision over Nick Wawrzyniak.

The victors from tonight's action advance to the main ring, under the lights of Clune Arena from the championship round of the Wing Open Tournament. The finals will be held on Thursday, March 1, at 7 p.m., and admission is free.

125-lbs.: Roy Taylor (CS-15) dec. Michael Magtalas (CS-40)
132-lbs.: Andrew Munoz (CS-40) dec. Julian Gluck (CS-09)
139-lbs.: Dan Starr (CS-32) rsc-1 Miguel Martinez (CS-39)
147-lbs.: Glenn Miltenberg (CS-27) dec. John Alora (CS-38)
147-lbs.: Craig Spranger (CS-18) dec. Sean Cork (CS-18)
156-lbs.: Tyrus Korecki (CS-24) dec. Nolan Hebein (CS-20)
156-lbs.: Blaze Dunn (CS-22) dec. Mike Leland (CS-21)
165-lbs.: Casey Habluetzel (CS-32) rsc-2 Zigmas Polinauskas (CS-06)
165-lbs.: Chris Nelson (CS-13) dec. Matt Anthony (CS-07)
175-lbs.: Mike McLain (CS-24) rsc-1Charles Weeks (CS-18)
175-lbs.: Denis Vorobyov (CS-06) dec. Derek Demyanek (CS-24)
185-lbs.: Andre Guthrie (CS-24) rsc-1 Nate Landecker (CS-39)
Hywt.: Wale Lawal (CS-13) rsc-2 Nate Bratka (CS-33)
Hywt.: Joseph Okai (CS-26) dec. Nick Wawrzyniak (CS-30)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago