Falcons Advance 14 to Wing Open Finals
Denis Vorobyov

Feb. 20, 2013

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - With a spot in the Wing Open finals on the line, 28 members of the Air Force boxing team brought a tough effort to the Cadet Boxing Room this evening (Feb. 20) during semifinal action of the 55th Wing Open Boxing Tournament. Denis Voroboyv was selected as the Academy's Boxer of the Week.

Vorobyov won his 165-pound bout with Nick Holguin, when the referee stopped the contest in the third round. Vorobyov, a two-time Wing Open finalist at 175 pounds, was the aggressor throughout the first round, forcing the first standing-eight count of the bout. He forced a standing-eight during each of the next two rounds, before the referee called the contest. He will face newcomer Kyle Sasine, who defeated Brandon Pitts in the second 165-pound quarterfinal.

Stephen Bittner advanced to his second Wing Open final in the 125-pound contest, as he earned a referee-stopped victory over Jamal Johnson. He will face defending champion Roy Taylor, who earned a bye into the finals. Bittner's RSC win was the first of four straight contests to end before the final bell. Defending 132-pound champion Andrew Munoz used an early defeat of Pete Coote to return to the finals, where he will face Jacob Berggren, who claimed a referee stopped win over Nate Gamble in the other semifinal.

Ethan Salgado claimed the fourth referee-stopped win to open the semifinals, as he defeated Jacob McGill at 139 pounds. Salgado, a 2012 Wing Open finalist, will face last year's runner-up at 132 pounds, Will Petersen, who took a decision from Donnie Macary in his new weight class. With defending 147-pound champion Glenn Miltenberg earning a victory by forfeit, only one bout was contested at that weight class. Sean Cork will face Miltenberg in the finals, after decisioning John Alora.



James Monk and Mike Leland advanced to their first Wing Open finals after defeating Kyle Gladney and Nolan Hebein, respectively, in the 156-pound semifinal bouts. Logan Brandt, who won the 195-pound Wing Open title last year, advanced to the third Wing Open final of his career, after defeating Max Zendali in the first 175-pound semifinal. He will face Justin Smith, who qualified for his first final after earning the judges' decision in his bout with Jeff Herrala.

A pair of freshmen advanced out of the 185-pound bracket, as Gyntenis Borusas earned a decision over Derek Demyanek and Phil Mays defeated Matt Jones by the judges' vote.

The winners from tonight's action advance to the main ring, under the lights of Clune Arena, for the championship round of the Wing Open Tournament. The finals will be held next Thursday (Feb. 28) at 7 p.m. Admission is free.

125-lbs.: Stephen Bittner (CS-15) rsc Jamal Johnson (CS-26)
132-lbs.: Andrew Munoz (CS-40) rsc Pete Coote (CS-15)
132-lbs.: Jacob Berggren (CS-30) rsc Nate Gamble (CS-05)
139-lbs.: Ethan Salgado (CS-14) rsc Jacob McGill (CS-10)
139-lbs.: Will Petersen (CS-02) dec. Donnie Macary (CS-10)
147-lbs.: Sean Cork (CS-22) dec. John Alora (CS-38)
156-lbs.: James Monk (CS-10) dec. Kyle Gladney (CS-25)
156-lbs.: Mike Leland (CS-21) dec. Nolan Hebein (CS-20)
165-lbs.: Kyle Sasine (CS-24) dec. Brandon Pitts (CS-11)
165-lbs.: Denis Vorobyov (CS-03) rsc Nick Holguin (CS-08)
175-lbs.: Logan Brandt (CS-18) dec. Max Zendali (CS-18)
175-lbs.: Justin Smith (CS-31) dec. Jeff Herrala (CS-15)
185-lbs.: Gyntenis Borusas (CS-23) dec. Derek Demyanek (CS-14)
185-lbs.: Phil Mays (CS-08) dec. Matt Jones (CS-24)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago