Air Force Advances 14 from Wing Open Semifinals
Sean Cork

Feb. 12, 2014

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - The Air Force boxing team finalized the championship roster of the 2014 Wing Open tournament this evening (Feb. 12) with 14 hard-hitting semifinal bouts in Cadet East Gym. At 147 pounds, Sean Cork earned the program's final regular season Boxer of the Week award.

Cork claimed a spot in the finals after forcing the referee to stop his bout with Matt Medara before the final bell. Cork's bout was one of three bouts to end early, as Ethan Salgado earned a 139-pound referee-stopped-victory over Raymond Wayne and Sam Sheikh won a 156-pound early victory over Tim Welkener.

The other half of the brackets for those three weight classes were also decided. Pedro Barrientes earned a decision over Jordan Cox in the 147-pound bout, while Jacob Berggren decisioned Derek Kinamon at 139 pounds and James Monk earned the judges' votes in his 156-pound bout with Taylor Lopez-Olijnyk.

Four additional weight classes were finalized during tonight's semifinals.

Roy Taylor and Peter Coote won their 132-pound bouts after taking decisions from Jamal Johnson and Anthony Ermitano, respectively, in the night's lightest weight class. Denis Vorobyov (vs. Jesse Calico) and Nick Holguin (vs. Jeffrey Walton) claimed victories by decision at 165 pounds, while Max Zendali (vs. Chad Turney) and Brandon Pitts (vs. Darnell Jones) earned their decisions in the 175-pound bouts. Zac Spranger and Laurynas Galdikas closed out the night with back-to-back victories in the 195-pound weight class, as they took decisions from Andrew Banez and Scott Wawrzyniak, respectively.



With preliminary action complete, the Falcons will leave the gym behind and head under the lights of the main ring in Clune Arena for 2014 Wing Open Championships, which will be held next Thursday (Feb. 20) at 7 p.m.

132-lbs.: Roy Taylor (CS-14) dec. Jamal Johnson (CS-26)
132-lbs.: Peter Coote (CS-15) dec. Anthony Ermitano (CS-38)
139-lbs.: Ethan Salgado (CS-14) rsc Raymond Wayne (CS-04)
139-lbs.: Jacob Berggren (CS-30) dec. Derek Kinamon (CS-20)
147-lbs.: Sean Cork (CS-22) rsc Matt Medara (CS-25)
147-lbs.: Pedro Barrientes (CS-16) dec. Jordan Cox (CS-16)
156-lbs.: James Monk (CS-10) dec. Taylor Lopez-Olijnyk (CS-17)
156-lbs.: Sam Sheikh (CS-31) rsc Tim Welkener (CS-21)
165-lbs.: Denis Vorobyov (CS-03) dec. Jesse Calico (CS-39)
165-lbs.: Nick Holguin (CS-08) dec. Jeffrey Walton (CS-19)
175-lbs.: Max Zendali (CS-18) dec. Chad Turney (CS-25)
175-lbs.: Brandon Pitts (CS-11) dec. Darnell Jones (CS-32)
195-lbs.: Zac Spranger (CS-35) dec. Andrew Banez (CS-35)
195-lbs.: Laurynas Galdikas (CS-29) dec. Scott Wawrzyniak (CS-06)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago