Air Force Boxing Opens Winter Semester with 11 Bouts

Jan. 14, 2011

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - The Air Force boxing team opened the winter semester with 11 bouts of Friday Night Fights action on Jan. 14, in the Cadet Gym Boxing Room. Five of the 11 contests were stopped early by the referees and senior Patrick Ryan was named the Academy's Boxer of the Week after taking a referee stopped victory in the second round of the 172-pound bout.

Ryan forced the referee to stop the bout in the second round when he caught opponent Aaron Wurster with a hard right to the chin and sent him to the mat. Ryan used good head movement and combination punching to beat Wurster.

With improved defense and good movement, Andrew Munoz boxed what the coaches called an `outstanding bout' to take a decision over Chris Eby at 142 pounds. Brett Satterfield handed Zack Spranger his first loss of the year in a very close 204-pound bout. Satterfield earned the unanimous decision by landing the cleaner, more effective shots.

In his first Friday fight, Julian Gluck earned a third-round victory over Ryan Finklestein-Diaz at 130 pounds. As the stronger of the two boxers, Gluck was able to get past the reach advantage of his opponent and land solid, scoring blows. Nolan Hebein had a strong showing in the 158-pound bout against James Livingstone, showing good poise and ring generalship and the referee stopped the contest in the third round. Matt DeMars won his 125-pound bout against Vincente Vazquez with a third-round stoppage, while Matt Tasin defeated Sam Janasov by decision in a 175-pound contest.

Sean Cork decisioned Dan Acero in a 148-pound bout, while Mike Dunn collected the judges' decision over Glenn Miltenberg at 152 pounds. Mike Leland took a decision from Tyler Curlee at 169 pounds, while Will Peterson earned a referee stopped bout (second round) over David Leeds at 137 pounds.



Air Force concludes its season round of Friday Night Fights next week (Jan. 21).

Bout Results
125-lbs.: Matt DeMars (CS-14) rsc-3 Vincente Vazquez (CS-05)
175-lbs.: Matt Tasin (CS-01) dec. Sam Janasov (CS-17)
130-lbs.: Julian Gluck (CS-09) rsc-3 Ryan Finklestein-Diaz (CS-15)
148-lbs.: Sean Cork (CS-18) dec. Dan Acero (CS-31)
172-lbs.: Patrick Ryan (CS-05) rsc-2 Aaron Wurster (CS-06)
152-lbs.: Mike Dunn (CS-01) dec. Glenn Miltenberg (CS-27)
169-lbs.: Mike Leland (CS-26) dec. Tyler Curlee (CS-30)
158-lbs.: Nolan Hebein (CS-26) rsc-3 James Livingstone (CS-18)
137-lbs.: Will Peterson (CS-02) rsc-2 David Leeds (CS-12)
142-lbs.: Andrew Munoz (CS-02) dec. Chris Eby (CS-34)
204-lbs.: Brett Satterfield (CS-37) dec. Zack Spranger (CS-06)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago