Falcons Return to Action with Friday Night Fights
Denis Vorobyov

Jan. 11, 2013

USAF ACADEMY, Colo. - With all but one bout going to the distance, the Air Force boxing team returned to action with a strong series of Friday Night Fights on Jan. 11. In the squad's first round of action in 2013, Denis Vorobyov was named the Academy's Boxer of the Week.

Vorobyov claimed a hard-fought 178-pound decision over Logan Brandt, using intense pressure, good speed and solid combinations to keep his opponent off balance.

In the lightest bout of the night, Drew Pineda defeated Michael Magtalas at 128 pounds. The Falcons' team captain, who moved up two weight classes for Friday's contest, used experience, conditioning and skill to control the bout from start to finish. Will Petersen picked up a 144-pound decision over Ethan Salgado, using an effective jab and devastating left hook to outpoint his classmate.

In the 132-pound contest, Roy Taylor defeated Peter Coote for the second time this season, while Glenn Miltenberg decisioned Kyle Gladney at 161 pounds. Shane Riley picked up his first FNF win by outpointing Josh Burdett in the 176-pound weight class.

A pair of Falcons picked up victories in the 168-pound weight class, as Will Denger and Brandon Pitts picked up decisions over Jonathan Monsalve and Nicholas Holguin, respectively. Also claiming decisions were Justin Smith (177 pounds, Chris Nelson), Derek Demyanek (182 pounds, Collin Fleck), Jacob Berggren (133 pounds, Mohamed El Ghodhbane), Ronald Malloy (155 pounds, Ryan Kissinger), Shawn Lovett (165 pounds, Keith Sasine) and Philip Mays (188 pounds, Matt Jones).



In the only bout of night that didn't go to the final bell, Zac Spranger defeated Aaron Oats in a referee stopped contest (second round).

The Falcons close out the Friday Night Fights portion of the season next week (Jan. 18) at 4:30 p.m.

177-lbs.: Justin Smith (CS-31) dec. Chris Nelson (CS-13)
144-lbs.: Will Petersen (CS-02) dec. Ethan Salgado (CS-14)
178-lbs.: Denis Vorobyov (CS-03) dec. Logan Brandt (CS-18)
182-lbs.: Derek Demyanek (CS-14) dec. Collin Fleck (CS-24)
128-lbs.: Drew Pineda (CS-05) dec. Michael Magtalas (CS-34)
132-lbs.: Roy Taylor (CS-15) dec. Peter Coote (CS-15)
161-lbs.: Glenn Miltenberg (CS-27) dec. Kyle Gladney (CS-25)
176-lbs.: Shane Riley (CS-19) dec. Josh Burdett (CS-27)
133-lbs.: Jacob Berggren (CS-30) dec. Mohamed El Ghodhbane (CS-15)
213-lbs.: Zac Spranger (CS-35) rsc-2 Aaron Oats (CS-15)
155-lbs.: Ronald Malloy (CS-10) dec. Ryan Kissinger (CS-14)
165-lbs.: Shawn Lovett (CS-40) dec. Keith Sasine (CS-24)
188-lbs.: Philip Mays (CS-08) dec. Matt Jones (CS-24)
168-lbs.: Will Denger (CS-20) dec. Jonathan Monsalve (CS-10)
168-lbs.: Brandon Pitts (CS-11) dec. Nicholas Holguin (CS-08)

Air Force Logo


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago